Jarvis replaces Kristensen at Audi next season

Olly Jarvis (Right) will replace Tom Kristensen in Audi's LMP1 program while Rene Rast (left) has been promoted to the third R18 e-tron

Olly Jarvis (Right) will replace Tom Kristensen in Audi’s LMP1 program while Rene Rast (left) has been promoted to the third R18 e-tron

Audi has confirmed British driver Olly Jarvis will replace Le Mans superstar Tom Kristensen for its LMP1 assault on the FIA World Endurance Championship next season.

The German manufacturer has been forced to reshuffle its LMP1 driver line up following the retirement of nine-times Le Mans 24 Hour winner Kristensen.

Jarvis, who has been part of Audi’s LMP1 program for the last three years, has been promoted to the Dane’s seat alongside Loic Duval and Lucas di Grassi.

The Brit will step up from his role in Audi’s third car which he shared with Filipe Albuquerque and Marco Bonanomi.

Confirmed at the Audi’s end-of-season awards, the endurance giant will field two R18 e-tron cars for the 2015 FIA WEC, while continuing to run a third car at Le Mans and Spa.

Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler will continue to pilot the lead LMP1 entry.

Next year Audi will be seeking their 14th outright Le Mans victory as they bid to close in on the record of 16 wins held by Porsche.

Blancpian Endurance Series star and Bathurst 12 Hour driver Rene Rast will replace Jarvis in the third car alongside Albuquerque and Bonanomi.

Audi has also announced an unchanged DTM roster for its eight cars next season.

Experienced double champion Mattias Ekstrom, Mike Rockenfeller and Timo Scheider will lead the attack.

The trio will be joined by Edoardo Mortara, Miguel Molina, Jamie Green, Adrien Tambay and Nico Muller.


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]