GP2 racer Markelov joins Toyota Racing Series

Artem Merkelov

Artem Merkelov

GP2 driver Artem Markelov heads a group of international rising stars confirmed for the 2015 Toyota Racing Series.

The Russian driver made his debut in the Formula 1 feeder series this year racing alongside Kiwi Mitch Evans at the Russian Time outfit.

Markelov scored just six points in his first year in the competitive category but has impressed in lower formulas, finishing second overall in the German Formula 3 Championship in 2013.

The 20-year-old is set to drive for Giles Motorsport in the five round New Zealand based championship, which will begin at Ruapuna Park on January 14-18.

European F3 Championship racer Santino Ferrucci has also secured a deal to race for Giles Motorsport with the American joining Markelov and British F3 star Sam McLeod at the team.

Reigning Italian Formula 4 champion Lance Stroll has penned a deal to join M2 Competition for the championship as the Canadian looks to aid his transition to the FIA European Formula 3 Championship next season.

BRDC F4 runner up Arjun Maini from India will join Stroll at M2 Competition alongside Dane Mathias Kristensen and Irish BRDC F4 driver Charlie Eastwood.

Highly rated Kiwi Jamie Conroy, who lifted the New Zealand Formula Ford Championship, will complete the line up.

New Zealand will also be represented by Brendon and Damon Leitch and Formula Master China Series winner James Munro from Christchurch.

Australia’s sole representative is Formula Ford Series winner Thomas Randle, who will drive for ETEC Motorsport.

“The depth of talent arriving in TRS in 2015 from from many different series makes it very difficult to pick the stand-out drivers,” said TRS Manager Barrie Thomlinson.

All drivers will compete in the new Tatuus FT-50 single-seater which will make its debut in the championship in January.

Toyota Racing Series 2015 Entry List  

Driver Team Nationality
Lance Stroll M2 Competition Canada
Mathias Kristensen M2 Competition Denmark
Arjun Maini M2 Competition India
Charlie Eastwood M2 Competition Ireland
Jamie Conroy M2 Competition New Zealand
James Munro Giles Motorsport New Zealand
John Simonyan Giles Motorsport Russia
Artem Markelov Giles Motorsport Russia
Santino Ferrucci Giles Motorsport USA
Sam MacLeod Giles Motorsport UK
Alfonso Celis Jnr Giles Motorsport Mexico
Ferdinand Habsburg Victory Motor Racing Austria
Stefan Riener Victory Motor Racing Austria
Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing New Zealand
Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing New Zealand
Matteo Ferrer ETEC Motorsport Germany/Italy
Nikita Mazepin ETEC Motorsport Russia
Thomas Randle ETEC Motorsport Australia

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]