Van Gisbergen victorious as rain halts Sydney finale

Shane van Gisbergen took the victory in rain affected final race of the season at Sydney Olympic Park

Shane van Gisbergen took the victory in rain affected final race of the season at Sydney Olympic Park

Shane van Gisbergen emerged victorious in the final race of the V8 Supercars season which was brought to a premature end by heavy rain at Sydney Olympic Park.

The Kiwi prevailed in difficult wet conditions to not only win the race but claim second overall in the championship standings, after capitalising on a mistake from leader Garth Tander.

Van Gisbergen jumped to the lead as early as lap 3 with the race starting on a wet but drying track.

However, the Tekno Autosports man briefly lost the lead to Tander through pit strategy as heavy rain forced the field to dump slick tyres and revert back to wets, as the race reached the halfway mark.

But there was yet a further twist when a mistake from Tander allowed the New Zealander to grab the lead just seconds before the Safety Car was deployed due to the worsening conditions.

The race was soon suspended after 44 laps before officials called a result after a brief stoppage, leaving van Gisbergen to scoop victory ahead of the Holden Racing Team duo Tander and James Courtney.

Full points were awarded as the race had completed more than half distance.

Newly crowned six-time V8 Supercars champion Jamie Whincup came through the eventful race to finish fourth ahead of Ford Performance Racing’s Chaz Mostert and Supercheap Auto Racing’s Tim Slade.

Meanwhile, Mark Winterbottom threw away the chance to secure the runner up spot in the championship having been involved in a drama filled race.

The Ford Performance Racing driver dropped to the rear of the field after being squeezed out on the run down to Turn 1 by Courtney and Rick Kelly.

He never recovered as another mistake saw him clip the wall at Turn 8 before the rain came down. Winterbottom eventually finished in 19th spot and third overall in the championship.

Rick Kelly gave Nissan a strong result finishing in seventh ahead of Volvo’s Scott McLaughlin, who also secured fifth in the standings.

Brad Jones Racing’s Jason Bright was ninth while Erebus Motorsport’s Will Davison rounded out the top 10.

Marcos Ambrose managed to bring his Dick Johnson Racing Falcon home in 16th spot ahead of Red Bull Racing’s Craig Lowndes, who struggled for pace throughout the race.

Despite a retirement after just six laps, Nissan’s Michael Caruso held onto his 10th position in the championship.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 38, Sydney

1 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 44 01:14:50.0418
2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 44 01:14:51.8575
3 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 44 01:14:55.3303
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 44 01:14:56.2879
5 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 44 01:14:57.6404
6 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 44 01:14:59.3153
7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 44 01:15:00.6560
8 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 44 01:15:02.1322
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 44 01:15:02.8445
10 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 44 01:15:03.7420
11 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 44 01:15:05.7223
12 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 44 01:15:06.5103
13 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 44 01:15:07.1671
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 44 01:15:08.9473
15 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 44 01:15:09.8398
16 XBOX Racing DJR Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG 44 01:15:10.8584
17 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 44 01:15:13.4070
18 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 44 01:15:14.1386
19 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 44 01:15:14.6981
20 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 44 01:15:16.7057
21 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 44 01:15:17.7537
22 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 43 01:14:50.9541
23 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 43 01:14:52.8220
24 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 43 01:14:54.2687
DNF Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 28 01:15:20.4913
DNF Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima  6    10:48.4547

V8 Supercars Championship Standings

1 Jamie Whincup 3364
2 Shane Van Gisbergen 2778
3 Mark Winterbottom 2763
4 Craig Lowndes 2656
5 Scott McLaughlin 2509
6 James Courtney 2481
7 Chaz Mostert 2444
8 Fabian Coulthard 2430
9 Garth Tander 2280
10 Michael Caruso 1939
11 Jason Bright 1920
12 Nick Percat 1915
13 Rick Kelly 1912
14 Will Davison 1904
15 David Reynolds 1786
16 James Moffat 1704
17 Tim Slade 1646
18 Russell Ingall 1510
19 Scott Pye 1407
20 Lee Holdsworth 1386
21 David Wall 1339
22 Todd Kelly 1317
23 Jack Perkins 1271
24 Dale Wood 1160
25 Robert Dahlgren 909
26 Paul Dumbrell 810
27 Paul Morris 645
28 Jonathon Webb 579
29 Steve Owen 543
30 Alexandre Premat 522
31 Steven Richards 519
32 Luke Youlden 480
33 Oliver Gavin 462
34 Dean Fiore 462
35 Greg Murphy 447
36 David Russell 441
37 Alex Davison 408
38 Warren Luff 402
39 Tony D’Alberto 387
40 Ashley Walsh 381
41 Taz Douglas 339
42 Alex Buncombe 327
43 Cameron Waters 318
44 Tim Blanchard 300
45 Dean Canto 270
46 Andrew Jones 231
47 Greg Ritter 228
48 Steven Johnson 225
49 Chris Pither 156
50 Andre Heimgartner 144
51 Ant Pedersen 144
52 Craig Baird  69


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]