McLaughlin ties Whincup with Race 38 pole

McLaughlin receives the cheques from Armor All boss Paul Blair

McLaughlin receives the cheques from Armor All boss Paul Blair

Scott McLaughlin has tied Jamie Whincup’s tally of 10 poles for the season in a thrilling Top 10 Shootout at Sydney Olympic Park.

Both drivers will be awarded $10,000 from Armor All under the tie following a pledge this morning from boss Paul Blair.

McLaughlin was the fourth man out in the single-lap run-off, displacing James Courtney from the top of the order with a 1:28.31s.

The youngster managed to undercut his own qualifying time despite a brief sprinkle of rain falling at the start of his run.

Although the rain stayed away from the remainder, McLaughlin was able to hold on, with each of the following runners falling short.

“It’s been a fantastic year and to top it off with this is fantastic, I’m stoked,” beamed the 21-year-old post-session.

Penultimate runner Garth Tander came closest, falling just 0.03s short after grazing the wall at the final corner.

Qualifying pace-setter Shane van Gisbergen will start third ahead of Courtney, Mark Winterbottom, Rick Kelly, Scott Pye and Chaz Mostert.

Jamie Whincup and David Reynolds both had their laps scrubbed after triggering the kerb sensor at Turn 3.

The 250km season finale is scheduled for 1540 local time.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]