Whincup wins rain shortened second race

Jamie Whincup takes the win in Race 37 which ended under the Safety Car in treacherous conditions

Jamie Whincup took the win in Race 37 which ended under the Safety Car in treacherous conditions

Jamie Whincup made it successive Sydney wins after heavy rain brought an early end to Race 37.

The Red Bull driver had been leading the race when the red flags were called on the 19th of 37 laps due to the conditions.

After a 20 minute stoppage, the cars returned to the track under Safety Car before the race reached its time cut-off with just 23 laps in the books.

The duration was sufficient to award full championship points.

Whincup led home Shane van Gisbergen, Scott McLaughlin, Jason Bright and Mark Winterbottom in the subdued finish.

Starting fourth, Whincup had surged to the lead amid a frantic four-wide dash to the first corner.

Minor contact with polesitter Bright on his right-side and McLaughlin to his left failed to stop Whincup’s move to the lead.

Bright emerged from the squeeze in second ahead of McLaughlin and Shane van Gisbergen, who soon pounced on the Volvo to take third.

Whincup ran away in the early stages as all drivers stayed out waiting for the rain to hit.

Stops for wet tyres began during early sprinkles on lap 12.

Whincup timed his stop to perfection, coming in three laps later, just as the downpour began.

David Wall was left as the only man on slicks and soon found himself in the Turn 2 wall, bringing out the Safety Car and, as it turned out, the end of green flag racing for good.

Marcos Ambrose had earlier found trouble at the first corner; tagged into a spin by Craig Lowndes before suffering further contact with Perkins.

The Xbox Ford continued with superficial damage and eventually wound up 21st.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 37, Sydney

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF  23 01:05:51.1979
2 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF  23 201:05:51.9797
3 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60  23 01:05:52.5226
4 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF  23 01:05:53.2069
5 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG  23 01:05:54.0254
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF  23 01:05:54.8964
7 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF  23 01:05:55.3006
8 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima  23 01:05:55.7946
9 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG  23 01:05:58.4299
10 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF  23 01:05:59.6272
11 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF  23 01:06:00.3730
12 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG  23 01:06:01.3888
13 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG  23 01:06:03.1511
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima  23 01:06:04.5216
15 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG  23 01:06:05.3623
16 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF  23 01:06:06.3336
17 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima  23 01:06:06.8023
18 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60  23 01:06:08.6764
19 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF  23 01:06:09.1743
20 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF  23 01:06:10.3810
21 XBOX Racing DJR Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG  23 01:06:11.9338
22 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG  23 01:06:17.8203
23 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima  23 01:06:18.7017
24 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG  23 01:06:21.7941
25 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF  22 01:06:20.1622
DNF Wilson Security Racing David Wall  Ford Falcon FG  16 24:42.4943

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]