Dumbrell equals records in Dunlop Series win

Paul Dumbrell scores a dominant Dunlop Series victory in Race 1

Paul Dumbrell scores a dominant Dunlop Series victory in Race 1

Paul Dumbrell has equalled two long-standing V8 Supercars Development Series records as he romped to another victory in Race 1 at the season-ending Sydney NRMA 500.

The GearWrench-backed Dumbrell led by as much as 4.9s in the latter stages before cruising to the line to put an exclamation mark on the title which he wrapped up in the penultimate round at Bathurst.

That marked his fourth consecutive race win, equalling Jonathon Webb’s series benchmark set in 2009, and 21st in total, matching the mark which Dean Canto set in 2008.

Cameron Waters drove a lonely race to second, making great strides in his quest to hunt down Ash Walsh for second in the series, while Aaren Russell held out Chris Pither for third.

Dumbrell, who scored pole by over four tenths of a second, beat Waters off the line, while Walsh bogged down and plummeted from third on the grid to 15th by the end of the first of 23 laps.

The driver bolted to a 2.1s lead after just three laps, but came back to the field on Lap 7 when the safety car was called in order for a stricken Kurt Kostecki to be retrieved from the main straight.

That intervention merely delayed the inevitable as the 2014 Pirtek Enduro Cup winner quickly gapped the field again.

Walsh, who had recovered to tenth before the safety car, again tumbled down the order to 20th as a result of a drive-through penalty for an overzealous move which saw Ant Pedersen escorted into the wall.

Andre Heimgartner was meanwhile applying pressure to fourth-placed Pither at the halfway mark, but couldn’t find a way past his compatriot.

Instead, the Ice Break Racing driver set about hunting down Russell, but the Novocastrian held his nerve to beat Pither to the line by just under three tenths of a second.

Heimgartner finished fifth, from Andrew Jones, Taz Douglas, Paul Morris, Macauley Jones, and Ant Pedersen.

The latter had an entertaining duel with Matt Stone Racing tyro Todd Hazelwood over several laps before the 19 year old ran wide and scraped a tyre wall on Lap 21, eventually limping to the line a lap down.

Walsh salvaged 12th to hold onto a skinny 12-point buffer to Waters in the race for second in the series.

Qualifying for the final race of the season will be held from 0845 AEDT tomorrow, ahead of the final 23-lapper at 1230.

See below for full Race 1 results

1 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 23 35:41.9730
2 TEAM ENZED FPR Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 23 35:45.8686
3 Fitness Plus / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 23 35:57.3162
4 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 23 35:57.6134
5 Finance Ezi / MWM Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 23 36:01.3281
6 Freightliner Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 23 36:06.4242
7 Ozbreaks / Lubrimaxx Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 23 36:10.6712
8 United Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 23 36:13.2698
9 Rockstar Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 23 36:14.3925
10 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 23 36:26.9990
11 St George Foundation Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 23 36:29.9061
12 Infants Friend Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 23 36:30.9109
13 R&J Batteries Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 23 36:39.0449
14 Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 23 36:42.7835
15 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon fg 23 36:43.1619
16 Street Fighter Dan Day Holden Commodore VE2 23 36:53.1454
17 Dragon Motor Racing James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 23 36:53.4188
18 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE2 23 37:01.4383
19 Mocomm Communication Jim Pollicina Ford Falcon FG 23 37:15.4558
20 Tecalemit Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 22 35:51.0639
21 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 22 36:39.3364
DNF Battery World Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 17 29:38.7776
DNF MW Motorsport Kurt Kostecki Ford Falcon FG  6 22:12.2963
DNF Wynn’s Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2  1  2:47.4919
DNF Challenger Tim Macrow Holden Commodore VE2
DNF Pacific Hoists/Simplex Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]