Whincup fastest as Ambrose returns

Jamie Whincup set the fastest time in Practice 1

Jamie Whincup set the fastest time in Practice 1

Soon-to-be crowned six-time V8 Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup proved the fastest man in opening practice for the season ending Sydney NRMA 500.

The Red Bull driver clocked a 1:28.94s best after the chequered flag to edge fellow Holden runner Shane van Gisbergen by 0.02s.

Van Gisbergen had earlier missed 15 of the 20 minutes of track running after suffering a power steering problem on his out lap.

Michael Caruso was a late improver to put his Nissan third ahead of Brad Jones Racing pair Jason Bright and Fabian Coulthard, who both spent time atop the order in the closing stages.

Further back, it was a modest return for Marcos Ambrose, who after running as high as 14th, ended the session 23rd of the 26 runners.

The Xbox Ford driver’s 1:30.33s best proved 1.4s from the pace and came on the former NASCAR driver’s penultimate lap.

The only wild moment came with a left-front lock-up during the first flying lap on his second set of tyres, which saw Ambrose cut the Turn 2/3/4 chicane.

The second of three 20 minute practice sessions for the day will get underway at 1145 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 1, Sydney

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:28.9398*
2 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:28.9579 0:00.0181
3 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:29.2796 0:00.3398
4 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:29.3023 0:00.3625
5 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:29.5562 0:00.6164
6 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5822 0:00.6424
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:29.6060 0:00.6662
8 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:29.6208 0:00.6810
9 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:29.7270 0:00.7872
10 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:29.8049 0:00.8651
11 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:29.8206 0:00.8808
12 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:29.8252 0:00.8854
13 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 1:29.8387 0:00.8989
14 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:29.8863 0:00.9465
15 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:29.8929 0:00.9531
16 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:29.9501 0:01.0103
17 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 1:29.9863 0:01.0465
18 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:30.0457 0:01.1059
19 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:30.1814 0:01.2416
20 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:30.2131 0:01.2733
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.2427 0:01.3029
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.3190 0:01.3792
23 XBOX Racing DJR Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG 1:30.3366 0:01.3968
24 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:30.5617 0:01.6219
25 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 1:30.8721 0:01.9323
26 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 1:30.9278 0:01.9880

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]