Walkinshaw trio on top in final Friday practice

James Courtney set the pace in final practice session of the day

James Courtney set the pace in final practice session of the day

James Courtney led a Walkinshaw Racing lock-out of the top three places in the third and final Friday practice session at the Sydney NRMA 500.

The 2010 V8 Supercars champion knocked team-mate Garth Tander from the top spot with the chequered flag flying.

Courtney’s best effort of 1:28.12s was the fastest time of the three 20 minute hit-outs, eclipsing Tander by just 0.04s.

Tim Slade was third in Walkinshaw’s Supercheap Auto backed entry ahead of Scott Pye in the leading Dick Johnson Racing Ford.

Jamie Whincup had set the pace for much of the session before dropping to 11th during the final flurry of fast times.

Team-mate Craig Lowndes was 14th, with both among those to save their best tyres for Saturday morning’s final practice.

Marcos Ambrose continued his steady return to the championship in DJR’s wildcard, ending the day 24th.

The two-time champion had sat last on the sheets at the conclusion of the 20 minutes, before moving to within 1.44s of the pace with his final effort.

Ambrose was one place ahead of Winterbottom, who ended a quiet day for the #5 Pepsi FPR Falcon in 25th.

All 26 cars took part in the session following repairs to the Jason Bright Holden and James Moffat Nissan, which tagged the wall in separate Practice 2 incidents.

V8 Supercars Practice 3 Results

1 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:28.1214
2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:28.1634 0:00.0420
3 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:28.2826 0:00.1612
4 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 1:28.3523 0:00.2309
5 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:28.4097 0:00.2883
6 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:28.4336 0:00.3122
7 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:28.4796 0:00.3582
8 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:28.4824 0:00.3610
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:28.5788 0:00.4574
10 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:28.6689 0:00.5475
11 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:28.6745 0:00.5531
12 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:28.7319 0:00.6105
13 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:28.7563 0:00.6349
14 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:28.7903 0:00.6689
15 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 1:28.9404 0:00.8190
16 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:28.9839 0:00.8625
17 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 1:29.0009 0:00.8795
18 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:29.0777 0:00.9563
19 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:29.1229 0:01.0015
20 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:29.1679 0:01.0465
21 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:29.3467 0:01.2253
22 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 1:29.3637 0:01.2423
23 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:29.4684 0:01.3470
24 XBOX Racing DJR Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5591 0:01.4377
25 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5720 0:01.4506
26 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 1:29.8342 0:01.7128

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]