Rosberg claims pole for Abu Dhabi decider

Sunday 23rd November, 2014 - 1:27am


Nico Rosberg on his way to pole position for the title deciding Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg on his way to pole position for the title deciding Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg has struck a psychological blow in the title race by taking a comfortable pole position for Sunday’s Abu Dhabi decider at the Yas Marina circuit.

The Mercedes driver refused to buckle under the mounting pressure as he posted a 1:40.480s effort to clinch pole by more than three tenths of a second from team-mate and championship rival Lewis Hamilton.

Hamilton had topped the times in both Q1 and Q2 but was unable to match Rosberg in Q3 with the Brit making a mistake on his final effort.

“It was a great day again today. I was really happy with the set-up,” said Rosberg.

“I need to get the job done, and continue in the sort of form I had in Brazil during the race.”

The Williams of Valtteri Bottas once proved to be the best of the rest in third with the Finn a little over half a second adrift of Rosberg.

The Grove squad confirmed their pace with Felipe Massa joining Bottas on the second row in fourth.

Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo was the best non Mercedes powered runner in fifth ahead of team-mate and outgoing world champion Sebastian Vettel.

Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat will start from seventh alongside McLaren’s Jenson Button, who will start what could be his final grand prix in eighth. The 2009 world champion did crucially out-qualify his team-mate Kevin Magnussen, who will start from 11th on the grid.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso rounded out the top 10 for the Maranello squad.

Without a drive secured for next season, Jean-Eric Vergne was hoping to impress but he could only manage a time good enough for 12th position.

Force India’s Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg along with Sauber’s Adrian Sutil were also eliminated in Q2.

The Lotus of Romain Grosjean was the first of a group of five drivers who failed to progress to Q2.

The Frenchman, who confirmed he will remain at the Enstone team next season, will start from the back of the grid.

The 28-year-old will also face a drive through penalty in the race as a result of a 20 place grid drop for a sixth engine change of the year.

Sauber’s Esteban Gutierrez will start from 16th position ahead of Pastor Maldonado and the two Caterham’s of Kamui Kobayashi and debutant Will Stevens.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Qualifying Result

Position Driver Team Time Gap
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:40.480s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:40.866s +0.386s
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams Mercedes 1:41.025s +0.545s
4 Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 1:41.119s +0.639s
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Renault 1:41.267s +0.787s
6 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Renault 1:41.893s +1.413s
7 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso Renault 1:41.908s +1.428s
8 Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes 1:41.964s +1.484s
9 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:42.236s +1.756s
10 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:42.866s +2.386s
11 Kevin Magnussen McLaren Mercedes 1:42.198s Q2
12 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso Renault 1:42.207s Q2
13 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 1:42.239s Q2
14 Nico Hulkenberg Force India Mercedes 1:42.384s Q2
15 Adrian Sutil Sauber Ferrari 1:43.074s Q2
16 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber Ferrari 1:42.819s Q1
17 Pastor Maldonado Lotus Renault 1:42.860s Q1
18 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham Renault 1:44.540s Q1
19 Will Stevens Caterham Renault 1:45.095s Q1
20 Romain Grosjean Lotus Renault 1:42.768s Q1 (20 place grid penalty)

Title Decider Permutations

Hamilton can win the title if:

• he wins or is second

• is third, fourth or fifth and Rosberg does not win

• is sixth and Rosberg does not finish in the top two

• is seventh or eighth and Rosberg does not finish in the top three

• is ninth and Rosberg does not finish in the top four

• is 10th or retires and Rosberg does not finish in the top five

Rosberg can win the title if:

• he wins and Hamilton is no better than third

• is second and Hamilton is no better than sixth

• is third and Hamilton is no better than seventh

• is fourth and Hamilton is no better than ninth

• is fifth and Hamilton is no better than 10th comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!