Hamilton makes perfect start in Abu Dhabi

Saturday 22nd November, 2014 - 2:32am


Lewis Hamilton topped the times in Friday practice

Lewis Hamilton topped the times in Friday practice

Lewis Hamilton began the title deciding Abu Dhabi Grand Prix weekend on the front foot by topping the times in Friday practice at the Yas Marina Circuit.

The Brit edged his championship rival and Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg in both 90 minute sessions with his fastest time arriving in the final outing of the day.

Hamilton appeared to have an edge over Rosberg throughout the day although only 0.083s separated the pair at the end of Practice 2.

The championship leader set the session best 1:42.113s effort on super soft tyres.

While the Mercedes pair proved to be in a class of their own, McLaren’s Kevin Magnussen was the best of the rest in third, a full seven tenths adrift of the pace.

Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel was fourth fastest ahead of the leading Williams of Valtteri Bottas.

Daniel Ricciardo ended the day a second shy of Hamilton in sixth in front of Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen.

Fernando Alonso’s final grand prix weekend with Ferrari has started slowly with the Spaniard suffering a suspected engine problem which saw him fail to post a time in Practice 2.

Jenson Button also suffered problems with his McLaren with a hydraulic issue hampering his morning run, before ending the day in eighth.

Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat and Felipe Massa rounded out the top 10.

Caterham’s return to the track saw them occupy familiar positions at the bottom of the timesheets with Kamui Kobayashi 18th and new recruit and F1 debutant Will Stevens in 19th spot. The latter did manage to improve in the second session.

FIA Formula 3 champion Esteban Ocon also made his grand prix weekend debut for Lotus with the Frenchman replacing Romain Grosjean in morning practice. Adderly Fong also made an appearance in Adrian Sutil’s Sauber in Practice 1.

Grosjean, who announced this week he will remain at Lotus next year, will incur a 20 place grid penalty for an engine, turbo charger and MGU-H unit change. This will be his sixth power unit of the season.

Officials have also confirmed the qualifying procedure will change following the reappearance of the Caterham squad. Five cars will now be eliminated from Q1 and Q2 instead of four, a rule which had been in place for the last two races.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Free Practice 2 Results

Position Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:42.113s 35
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:42.196s +0.083s 37
3 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1:42.895s +0.782s 37
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:42.959s +0.846s 33
5 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1:43.070s +0.957s 34
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1:43.183s +1.070s 32
7 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:43.489s +1.376s 33
8 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:43.503s +1.390s 23
9 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1:43.546s +1.433s 38
10 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1:43.558s +1.445s 34
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1:43.746s +1.633s 37
12 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 1:44.005s +1.892s 38
13 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:44.068s +1.955s 32
14 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1:44.157s +2.044s 39
15 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1:44.316s +2.203s 38
16 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1:44.763s +2.650s 37
17 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:44.986s +2.873s 35
18 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 1:45.505s +3.392s 38
19 Will Stevens Caterham-Renault 1:47.057s +4.944s 34
20 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 2


Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Free Practice 1 Results

Position Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:43.476s 32
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:43.609s +0.133s 31
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:45.184s +1.708s 22
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Renault 1:45.334s +1.858s 30
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1:45.361s +1.885s 23
6 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1:45.718s +2.242s 17
7 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1:45.835s +2.359s 32
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1:45.913s +2.437s 8
9 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1:45.983s +2.507s 23
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:46.030s +2.554s 24
11 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1:46.049s +2.573s 23
12 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:46.131s +2.655s 23
13 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1:46.549s +3.073s 7
14 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1:46.556s +3.080s 28
15 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 1:46.711s +3.235s 31
16 Esteban Ocon Lotus-Renault 1:47.066s +3.590s 29
17 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:47.235s +3.759s 8
18 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 1:47.971s +4.495s 24
19 Adderly Fong Sauber-Ferrari 1:48.269s +4.793s 25
20 Will Stevens Caterham-Renault 1:50.684s +7.208s 14 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!