Doohan to partner Whincup at Barbados ROC

Mick Doohan returns to partner Jamie Whincup for Team Australia at the Race Of Champions

Mick Doohan returns to partner Jamie Whincup for Team Australia at the Race Of Champions

Motorcycling superstar Mick Doohan has been confirmed for the Race Of Champions in Barbados from December 13-14.

The five-time 500cc World Champion will again team-up with recently crowned history-making six-time V8 Supercar champion Jamie Whincup for Team Australia in the Nations Cup.

Doohan claimed three wins in 2012, the last time the ROC was run in Thailand, when he reached the quarter finals before being ousted by friend and seven-time F1 champion Michael Schumacher.

“I’m delighted to be coming back to the Race Of Champions and to be teaming up with Jamie again for Team Australia,” Doohan said.

“Of course, having spent my racing career on two wheels, I’m under no illusions about how tough it is to face some of the world’s greatest drivers. But I’m not short of determination.

“I’ve got a kart circuit at home – and as soon as I received the call from Fredrik (ROC organiser Johnsson) I went out to practice in my 600cc-engined buggy.

“I’ll keep that up as we get closer to next month’s event and who knows what can happen?

“Last time Jamie and I reached the semi-finals of the ROC Nations Cup and I’ll do my best to give those car specialists another shock or two in Barbados.”

Doohan and Whincup are among a line-up that includes Le Mans legend Tom Kristensen, reigning ROC winner Romain Grosjean, Indy 500 champ Ryan Hunter-Reay, NASCAR’s Kurt Busch, former WRC champ and recently crowned World Rallycross champion Petter Solberg and World Touring Car champion Jose-Maria Lopez.

The final field will be announced in the coming weeks.

Drivers already announced for the 2014 Race Of Champions:
Tom KRISTENSEN, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner
Romain GROSJEAN, Lotus F1 Team driver, reigning ROC Champion of Champions
Ryan HUNTER-REAY, Indianapolis 500 winner 2014, IndyCar Champion 2012
Jamie WHINCUP, V8 Supercar Champion 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008
Petter SOLBERG, FIA World Rallycross Champion 2014, FIA World Rally Champion 2003
Susie WOLFF, development driver for the Williams F1 team
Kurt BUSCH, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion 2004
José-Maria LOPEZ, FIA World Touring Car Champion 2014
Esteban OCON, FIA European F3 Champion 2014
Mick DOOHAN, 500cc MotoGP World Champion 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]