Richards makes history with Carrera Cup title win

Steven Richards secures Porsche Carrera Cup Australia title

Steven Richards secures Porsche Carrera Cup Australia title

Steven Richards secured his first major championship for 20 years by claiming the Porsche Carrera Cup Australia title in the final race of the season which was won by Nick Foster.

Foster dominated the encounter on the Gold Coast streets from start to finish but the real story was Richards who came home in fifth position to claim his first championship since winning the 1994 Australian Formula Ford title.

Richards’ title win has also created history following in the footsteps of his father Jim, who won the 2003 Carrera Cup title. As a result, they are the first father and son pair to win a Carrera Cup crown.

The final race of the season was controlled throughout by Foster as he led every single moment of the 20 lap encounter on the Surfers Paradise street circuit.

Shae Davies jumped to second having started from third on the grid while Richards slotted into third just ahead of David Russell.

However, Richards soon slipped to fourth after being passed by Russell.

At the halfway mark, Foster had built up a healthy 1.3s lead as Richards continued to slip way from the lead trio.

There proved to be no stopping Foster at the front as he took his second Carrera Cup victory of the day which gave him a maiden round win.

Davies finished in second ahead of Russell who claimed the final podium spot.

Outgoing Carrera Cup champion Craig Baird ended his campaign in fourth and third overall in the title race, while Richards cruised to fifth, which was enough to claim the championship from Warren Luff.

VIDEO Porsche Carrera Cup Race 3 Review

Porsche Carrera Cup Australia Race 3 Result, Gold Coast 

Position Number Sponsor Driver Laps Time/Gap
1 777 Bob Jane T-Marts Nick Foster (VIC) 20 24:33.5964
2 88 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies (QLD) 20 24:34.2748
3 23 JBS Australia David Russell (QLD) 20 24:34.8231
4 1 Bonaire / Wilson Security Craig Baird (VIC) 20 24:49.7165
5 12 Laser Plumbing & Electrical Steven Richards (VIC) 20 24:49.9802
6 7 No Second Chance/Phase 8 Warren Luff (QLD) 20 24:50.3664
7 26 Copyworld Michael Almond (SA) 20 25:06.7053
8 45 VIP Petfoods Duvashen Padayachee NSW 20 25:06.9276
9 77 Bob Jane T-Marts Nick McBride (VIC) 20 25:09.4955
10 55 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie (QLD) 20 25:17.4822
11 56 McGrath Estate Agents Shane Smollen (NSW) 20 25:21.7676
12 24 Alternative Freight Services / Tony Bates (VIC) 20 25:27.1516
13 13 Porsche Centre Brighton James Bergmuller (VIC) 20 25:30.8487
14 5 Objective Racing Tony Walls (QLD) 20 25:35.5759
15 22 Phenix Motorsport Brenton Ramsay (SA) 20 25:38.0402
16 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove (VIC) 20 25:48.1265
17 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini (VIC) 19 24:44.7305
18 11 Royal Purple Oil / Garth Walde Ash Samadi (NSW) 19 24:52.2728
19 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor (QLD) 19 25:00.5573
20 39 Veritas Adrian Mastronardo (NSW) 19 25:18.5384
21 10 Finance EZI/Foxtel Maurice Pickering (QLD) 18 25:17.3211

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]