Marquez equals Doohan record in Sepang

Sunday 26th October, 2014 - 7:30pm


Marc Marquez on his way to victory in Malaysia

Marc Marquez on his way to victory in Malaysia

New double world champion Marc Marquez equalled Mick Doohan’s record of 12 wins in a single season with a triumph in the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Honda rider suffered a setback early on after a brush with Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo dropped him as low as eighth, but the 21-year-old Spaniard battled back to take victory by a comfortable margin over Valentino Rossi.

Marquez’s triumph was his first race win since August’s British Grand Prix with the success equalling Doohan’s most wins in a season record set in 1997.

The race started with fireworks after Lorenzo and Marquez made contact on the run down to the first corner which dropped the new world champion to eighth.

Lorenzo managed to continued in third behind Dani Pedrosa and early race leader Andrea Dovizioso.

However, by the end of the opening lap Lorenzo had grabbed the lead.

Further drama unfolded when Pedrosa fell from second at the start of the following lap, while Marquez quickly latched onto the back of Yamaha’s of Rossi and Lorenzo.

The trio soon began to open up a healthy lead while Rossi looked for an opening to force his way into the lead.

Eventually Rossi’s pressure took its toll as he slipped into the lead at the halfway mark.

Marquez capitalised on the situation as he also found his way around Lorenzo before setting his sights on Rossi.

It didn’t take long for the youngest ever back-to-back MotoGP world champion to pass Rossi and go on to take the chequered flag.

Lorenzo was forced to settle for third ahead of LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl and Monster Yamaha’s Bradley Smith.

After fracturing a bone in his left foot in practice, Pol Espargaro produced heroics to finish in sixth spot in front of Yonny Hernandez.

Dovizioso came home in eighth while Hector Barbera and Scott Redding rounded out the top 10.

Australia’s Broc Parkes managed to avoid incident to cross the finish line in 14th position.

MotoGP heads to Spain’s Valencia circuit for the final round of the season on November 9.

MotoGP Malaysian Grand Prix Result

Position Rider Team Time/Gap
1 Marc Marquez Honda
2 Valentino Rossi Yamaha +2.445
3 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha +3.508s
4 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda +21.234s
5 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha +22.283s
6 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha +34.668s
7 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Ducati +38.435s
8 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati +48.839s
9 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati +50.792s
10 Scott Redding Gresini Honda +59.088s
11 Hiroshi Aoyama Aspar Honda +1:15.949s
12 Michael Laverty PBM Aprilia +1:17.966s
13 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Kawasaki +1:27.773s
14 Broc Parkes PBM Aprilia +1:44.244s
DNF Alex De Angelis Forward Yamaha 1 lap
DNF Danilo Petrucci Ioda Racing Team ART 6 laps
DNF Dani Pedrosa Hionda 8 laps
DNF Karel Abraham Cardion Honda 9 laps
DNF Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 14 laps
DNF Cal Crutchlow Ducati 16 laps
DNF Aleix Espargaro Forward Yamaha 19 laps
DNF Alvaro Bautista Gresini Honda 19 laps