Walkinshaw co-drivers impress in third practice

Tony D'Alberto

Tony D’Alberto

Tony D’Alberto led the way in the third practice session at Surfers Paradise, which featured three Walkinshaw Holdens in the top five.

D’Alberto’s 1:11.41s best in the Supercheap Holden proved the fastest time of the day to date; 0.01s quicker than Scott Pye effort’s from the opening session.

The second all co-driver hit-out saw a continuation of uninterrupted green flag running.

The Walkinshaw Holdens of D’Alberto, Warren Luff and Oliver Gavin locked out the top three spots going into the final minutes.

Greg Ritter then slotted his Volvo into second, with Brad Jones Racing’s Luke Youlden also demoting Gavin by going fourth.

Dick Johnson Racing continued to lead the Ford runners, with Steven Johnson and Ashley Walsh sixth and seventh respectively.

Cameron Waters was the fastest of the Ford Performance Racing entries in 10th, while Paul Morris was again at the tail of the order.

Minor incidents included Craig Baird tagging the wall in Lee Holdsworth’s Mercedes, while Alex Premat broke the front spoiler of Scott McLaughlin’s Volvo.

Many concentrated on longer runs during the third session.

Among them was Practice 2 pace-setter Steven Richards, who was just 22nd in the order after clocking a session high 23 lap stint.

Paul Dumbrell also ran a single, continuous spell in the second Red Bull entry, running 21 laps on the way to 14th.

A fourth and final practice session will complete the day’s V8 Supercars track action from 1530 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 3, Gold Coast

1 Supercheap Auto Racing Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:11.40
2 Valvoline Racing GRM Greg Ritter Volvo S60 1:11.59 0:00.1835
3 Holden Racing Team Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF 1:11.64 0:00.2371
4 Lockwood Racing Luke Youlden Holden Commodore VF 1:11.65 0:00.2455
5 Walkinshaw Racing Oliver Gavin Holden Commodore VF 1:11.66 0:00.2538
6 Wilson Security Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:11.76 0:00.3616
7 Wilson Security Racing Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 1:11.77 0:00.3669
8 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:11.78 0:00.3800
9 Erebus Motorsport V8 Alex Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:11.87 0:00.4730
10 Team JELD-WEN Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 1:11.88 0:00.4793
11 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 1:11.91 0:00.5096
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing David Russell Nissan Altima 1:11.94 0:00.5370
13 Holden Racing Team Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VF 1:11.94 0:00.5425
14 Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:12.01 0:00.6101
15 Norton Hornets Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 1:12.01 0:00.6113
16 Repair Management Aust Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:12.03 0:00.6246
17 Norton Hornets Taz Douglas Nissan Altima 1:12.06 0:00.6545
18 Team Advam/GB Chris Pither Holden Commodore VF 1:12.10 0:00.6931
19 Valvoline Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Volvo S60 1:12.34 0:00.9379
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Alex Buncombe Nissan Altima 1:12.38 0:00.9737
21 Red Bull Racing Australia Steven Richards Holden Commodore VF 1:12.49 0:01.0864
22 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 1:12.51 0:01.1073
23 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:12.73 0:01.3290
24 Erebus Motorsport V8 Craig Baird Mercedes E63 AMG 1:13.13 0:01.7326
25 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 1:13.31 0:01.9043

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]