Paul Morris sets sights on Pirtek Enduro Cup

Wednesday 22nd October, 2014 - 5:06pm


Paul Morris gunning for the Pirtek Enduro Cup

Paul Morris gunning for the Pirtek Enduro Cup

Shock Bathurst winner Paul Morris has designs on the Pirtek Enduro Cup which sees its outcome at the Castrol Edge Gold Coast 600 this weekend.

Gold Coast veteran Morris will again join up with young hot shoe Chaz Mostert following the pair’s last-to-first victory in the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 10 days ago.

Morris, 46, and Mostert shot into second place in the hunt for the Pirtek Cup, moving to 492 points, 30 behind Red Bull’s Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell.

“At the start of the year, I thought Chaz and I were in with a good shot at the Pirtek Enduro Cup,” Morris said.

“The fact FPR is one of only three teams that has built cars that have won on the Gold Coast since 2005 (together with Walkinshaw Racing and Triple Eight) gives me even more confidence this weekend.

“The trophy itself is pretty special having been created by a Queensland artist (James Corbett) and it would certainly look good sitting next to the Peter Brock Trophy (Bathurst 1000).”

Up to 15 combinations are in with a chance at winning the Pirtek Enduro Cup with a maximum of 150 points for each driver on offer in the twin 300km races around the Surfers Paradise street track.

Morris hopes the Cup, which is handcrafted from some 400 pieces direct from the Pirtek parts catalogue, can stay on home soil this Sunday.

After a relentless schedule of media appearances since conquering Mount Panorama, Morris said its time to put the focus back on racing.

“It is time to get our minds back on the job and focus on winning the Pirtek Enduro Cup,” he said.

“It (winning the Enduro Cup) would be a great reward for the FPR Pepsi Max Crew guys who have done a terrific job.”

Pirtek Enduro Cup standings following Bathurst 1000

1 Jamie Whincup / Paul Dumbrell 522
2 Chaz Mostert / Paul Morris 492
3 James Courtney / Greg Murphy 408
4 Craig Lowndes / Steven Richards 396
5 Mark Winterbottom / Steve Owen 360
6 Nick Percat / Oliver Gavin 336
7 Will Davison / Alex Davison 324
8 Shane van Gisbergen / Jonathon Webb 318
9 Fabian Coulthard / Luke Youlden 312
10 Rick Kelly / David Russell 312
11 Scott McLaughlin / Alexandre Premat 288
12 Todd Kelly / Alex Buncombe 282
13 James Moffat / Taz Douglas 276
14 Garth Tander / Warren Luff 258
15 Jack Perkins / Cameron Waters 258
16 Scott Pye / Ashley Walsh 222
17 Michael Caruso / Dean Fiore 222
18 David Reynolds / Dean Canto 168
19 Andre Heimgartner / Ant Pedersen 144
20 Tim Slade / Tony D’Alberto 138
21 Russell Ingall / Tim Blanchard 126
22 Jason Bright / Andrew Jones 126
23 David Wall / Steven Johnson 114
24 Robert Dahlgren / Greg Ritter 108
25 Dale Wood / Chris Pither 96
26 Lee Holdsworth / Craig Baird 0

CLICK HERE to visit’s fan survey on Ford’s future in V8 Supercars