Marquez marches to Phillip Island pole

Marc Marquez on his way to 12th pole of the year

Marc Marquez on his way to 12th pole of the year

Newly crowned MotoGP world champion Marc Marquez will start the Tissot Australian MotoGP from pole position following a strong showing in qualifying at Phillip Island.

The double world champion saved his best until the final minutes of the 15 minute session as the 21-year-old snatched pole with an impressive 1m28.408s effort.

Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo had held provisional pole for the majority of qualifying which was held under grey skies at the 4.4km circuit.

However, Lorenzo was unable to hold onto to his advantage with Honda’s Marquez and Ducati’s Cal Crutchlow both going quicker late on.

In the end, Marquez took the pole from 0.234s from Crutchlow, who scored his best qualifying result since joining Ducati.

“I’m happy but it will be a tough race for sure with the Yamaha’s being so quick,” said Marquez.

“The concentration and mental levels are the same but now I feel more relaxed so I look forward to the race now.”

Tech 3’s Bradley Smith impressed on the satellite Yamaha as he slotted into fourth spot ahead of Honda’s Dani Pedrosa, who was forced to come through Q1 having struggled for outright pace all weekend.

Aleix Espargaro will line up in sixth position ahead of Pramac Ducati’s Andrea Iannone and Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi.

Monster Yamaha’s Pol Espargaro and Andrea Dovizioso completed the top 10.

Elsewhere, Australia’s Broc Parkes will start his home race from 22nd on the grid for the Paul Bird Motorsport squad.

MotoGP Qualifying Results

Position Rider Team Time Gap
1 Marc Marquez Honda 1:28.408s
2 Cal Crutchlow Ducati 1:28.642s 0.234s
3 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:28.650s 0.242s
4 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1:28.656s 0.248s
5 Daniel Pedrosa Honda 1:28.675s 0.267s
6 Aleix Espargaro Forward Yamaha 1:28.866s 0.458s
7 Andrea Iannone Pramac Ducati 1:28.887s 0.479s
8 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:28.956s 0.548s
9 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 1:28.968s 0.560s
10 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:29.088s 0.680s
11 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda 1:29.155s 0.747s
12 Hiroshi Aoyama Aspar Honda 1:29.955s 1.547s
13 Scott Redding Gresini Honda 1:30.280s
14 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing 1:30.348s
15 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1:30.542s
16 Karel Abraham Cardion Honda 1:30.569s
17 Alvaro Bautista Gresini Honda 1:30.635s
18 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Ducati 1:30.729s
19 Danilo Petrucci IodaRacing Project 1:30.812s
20 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing 1:31.431s
21 Michael Laverty PBM Aprilia 1:31.492s
22 Broc Parkes PBM Aprilia 1:31.730s
23 Alex de Angelis Forward Yamaha 1:32.595s

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]