WORLD WRAP: Bamber claims Petit Le Mans podium

Earl Bamber on his way to a podium at Petit Le Mans

Earl Bamber on his way to a podium at Petit Le Mans

Earl Bamber’s impressive season continues as he helped Porsche secure the United SportsCar GTLM manufacturer crown on debut at the prestigious season ending Petit Le Mans.

The New Zealander, who was drafted in to join the works Porsche outfit for the 10 hour classic at Road Atlanta, quickly adapted to the demands of endurance racing.

The Porsche International Cup Scholarship winner impressed throughout the race helping the #912 car he shared with American ace Patrick Long and Michael Christensen to second in the GTLM class.

Wolf Henzler, Bryan Sellers and Marco Holzer took the class honours in the privateer Falken Porsche taking the flag just a second ahead of the factory outfit.

“To get the chance to contest this race with the 911 RSR and then climb the podium was a fantastic experience,” said Bamber.

Wayne Taylor Racing claimed the outright victory with its Corvette Daytona Prototype piloted by Ricky Taylor, Jordan Taylor and Max Angelelli.

The trio finished ahead of the Action Express Corvette DP of Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi and Sebastien Bourdais, who were crowned the inaugural United SportsCar champions.

Kiwi Scott Dixon, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas finished third in the Chip Ganassi Ford.

Elsewhere, Australia’s Ryan Briscoe finished fourth in the GTLM class in a factory Corvette he shared with Walkinshaw Racing V8 Supercar co-driver Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner.

Fellow Aussie James Davison finished 10th in the GTD class after an electrical issue plagued the TRG Aston Martin he took to a fourth pole position of the year in qualifying.


Rob Huff

Rob Huff

Rob Huff gave Lada its maiden World Touring Car Championship race victory as he ended a six year wait for the Russian marque at Beijing.

The Brit made the most of a his pole position for the reversed grid race leading every lap of the 26 lap contest.

ROAL driver Tom Coronel ensured Huff was unable to relax with the Dutchman just seven tenths adrift at the chequered flag.

Nine-time World Rally champion Sebastien Loeb claimed the final place on the podium ahead of Citroen’s championship leader Jose Maria Lopez.

Former British Touring Car ace Tom Chilton converted a maiden WTCC pole position into victory in race one as he held off the Citroen pair of Yvan Muller and Lopez.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]