WORLD WRAP: Muller wins, Bamber extends lead

Monday 8th September, 2014 - 11:00am


Sven Muller

Sven Muller

Junior driver Sven Muller claimed his maiden win in the Porsche Supercup race at Monza while Kiwi Earl Bamber extended his points lead.

The Team Project 1 driver Muller beat Klaus Bachler (Konrad Motorsport) with Bamber (Fach Auto Tech) third.

As a result, Bamber squeezes out an extra margin with a five point lead over Kuba Giermaziak (Verva Lechner Racing) who finished fourth.

The podium finishers are all products of Porsche’s driver development program.

GP3 Series

Jimmy Eriksson (Koiranen GP) took the opening heat from ART Grand Prix drivers Dino Zamparelli and Marvin Korchhofer at Monza.

Dean Stoneman celebrates

Dean Stoneman celebrates

Series leader Alex Lynn (Carlin) suffered a poor start and finished sixth while Status Grand Prix driver Richie Stanaway’s race was also compromised at the start before the Kiwi took ninth.

In the second race Dean Stoneman (Marussia Manor Racing) had less than a second to spare to beat Lynn in a thoroughly entertaining race.

Korchhofer took his second third place of the weekend while Stanaway’s retirement saw Lynn leave Monza with a 50-point lead and is a step away from claiming the title.

GP2 Series

Stoffel Vandoorne made the most of his pole position to claim the feature race for ART Grand Prix.

Arthur Pic (Campos Racing) was second with Mitch Evans claiming third for Russian Time, while series leader Jolyon Palmer (DAMS) minimised the damage to his points advantage to finish eighth after coming from last.

Jolyon Palmer

Jolyon Palmer

Palmer then came out to win the feature race from Stefano Coletti (Racing Engineering) with Stephane Richelmi (DAMS) third.

Evans’ weekend finished on a sour note after a collision with Andre Negrao (Arden), saw him retire two laps from the finish with suspension damage.

French Formula 4

Australian Joseph Mawson closed the gap on his championship rivals in the French F4 Championship with a pair of podium finishes at Magny-Cours.

Having only completed five laps in practice due to a faulty fuel pump, Mawson qualified fourth fastest in qualifying.

He then went on to finish fourth in the opening race before lining up seventh on the ‘reverse top ten’ second race. After dropping to ninth at the start, Mawson made some controlled movement forward before crossing the line third.

Starting fourth in the final race, the CAMS Foundation-backed driver made a good start to slot into third place during the opening few laps.

After pulling away from the third-placed runner Mawson closed the gap on leader Felix Hirsiger.

Joseph Mawson on the podium

Joseph Mawson on the podium

On the corner before the last chicane on the last lap Hirsiger made a mistake allowing Mawson to move up along side, rather than lifting for the chicane the British-Swiss driver cut the chicane completely and therefore didn’t lose the lead.

The stewards issued  a warning but decided not to penalise Hirsiger.

“After a couple of disappointing rounds, it’s great to be back up on the podium,” said Mawson.

With three rounds remaining in the championship, Mawson remains fourth in the championship points but has closed the gap on the lead.


West Surrey Racing’s Colin Turkington moved a step closer to his second British Touring Car Championship title with a double win at Rockingham.

Colin Turkington with Sam Tordoff and Jason Plato

Colin Turkington with Sam Tordoff and Jason Plato

The 2009 champion managed to get the jump on polesitter Sam Tordoff in race one and was able to hold his nerve despite coming under immense pressure from the MG man.

In the end, Turkington took the flag from Tordoff and his MG team-mate Jason Plato.

Turkington produced an impressive lights-to-flag drive in race two with Plato second and Tordoff third.

Rob Austin recorded his second win of the season in race three after leading home Alain Menu for his first BTCC podium since 2000.

Reigning champion Andrew Jordan fended off a gaggle of cars to secure the final place on the podium.

FIA World Rallycross Championship

Petter Solberg extended his championship lead to 28 points after taking victory in the eighth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship at Loheac in France.

Petter Solberg

Petter Solberg

The 2003 World Rally champion finished second behind Timmy Hansen at the Intermediate Classification stage, who was fastest in three of the four heats.

However, Solberg saved his best for the six lap final leading from start-to-finish as he took the chequered flag from Reinis Nitiss by just 1.4 seconds.

Hansen claimed the final podium spot in third just ahead of American Ken Block, who came perilously close to his second rostrum in as many meetings.

The FIA World Rallycross Championship heads to Germany for round nine on September 20-21.

Blancpain Endurance Series

HTP Motorsport’s Max Buhk and Max Gotz increased their advantage at the top of the Blancpain Sprint Series championship with victory at Portimao.

The Mercedes pair moved into the lead early in the race having slipped past the Grasser Lamborghini of Hari Proczyk.

Once in the lead, Buhk and Gotz sprinted to victory finishing ahead of WRT Audi of Cesar Ramos and Laurens Vanthoor.

However, the Audi pair were handed a 30 second penalty for a robust move on Jeroen Bleekemolen and Proczyk which demoted them to eighth.

Bleekemolen inherited second with Fabian Hamprecht and Stephane Ortelli in third.

Barcelona 24 Hours

MARC Cars Australia secure class win in Barcelona 24 Hours

MARC Cars Australia secure class win in Barcelona 24 Hours

The Scuderia Praha Ferrari of Jiri Pisarik, Jaromir Jirik, Matteo Malucelli and Peter Kox won the Barcelona 24 Hours with a seven lap margin over their nearest rivals Kessel Racing.

The Australian MARC Ford Focus of Michael Benton, Hadrian Morrall, Berric Lynton and Brit James Kaye won the SP2 class and finished seventh overall.