Power receives the trappings of IndyCar title

Will Power with wife Liz on the red carpet at the IndyCar awards night in Los Angeles

Will Power with wife Liz on the red carpet at the IndyCar awards night in Los Angeles

Will Power has received a booty of prizes following his success in the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series championship.

At the official championship prize-giving banquet in downtown Los Angeles, Power said the success was still sinking in.

“It’s still sinking in really,” Power, the first Australian to win North America’s biggest open-wheel championship, said.

“When you want something so bad for so long, it’s such a relief when you finally get it.

“It’s exactly that – a culmination of 15 years of hard work to get to this point.”

Power claimed the $1 million bonus for winning the title, the $75,000 Sunoco Diamond Performance Award for winning the most races (three) and the Verizon P1 gong for scoring the most pole positions as well as the $10,000 Jostens Champions Award ring.

His Penske team-mate Helio Castroneves was honored as the second-place finisher in the championship while Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) was honored for finishing third.

The third Penske driver Juan Pablo Montoya, in his return to IndyCar after a 14-year absence, was voted favorite driver by Verizon IndyCar Series fans.

Verizon IndyCar Series award winners:
Championship driver (Astor Challenge Cup): Will Power
Jostens Championship Driver Award (ring): Will Power
Championship team (Astor Challenge Cup): Verizon Team Penske
Championship team sponsors: Verizon
Championship team manager: Jon Bouslog
Chief Mechanic of the Year Award: Matt Jonnson
Sunoco Diamond Performance Award ($75,000): Will Power
Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award ($50,000): Carlos Munoz
TAG Heuer “Don’t Crack Under Pressure” Award ($25,000): Charlie Kimball
Second place championship driver: Helio Castroneves
Second place championship team: Team Penske
Third place championship driver: Scott Dixon
Third place championship team: Target Chip Ganassi Racing
Tony Renna Rising Star Award: Jack Hawksworth
Verizon P1 Award: Will Power
Manufacturers Championship: Chevrolet
Dan and Susie Wheldon “Make a Difference” Award ($1,000 charitable donation): Susie Wheldon
Verizon IndyCar Series Fan Favorite Driver: Juan Pablo Montoya

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]