Rosberg beats Hamilton to fourth consecutive pole

Nico Rosberg once again got the better of his Mercedes team-mate Lewis hamilton to secure pole

Nico Rosberg once again got the better of his Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton to secure pole

Nico Rosberg’s qualifying domination continued as he secured pole position for the Belgian Grand Prix after taming tricky wet conditions at Spa Francorchamps.

The championship leader was once again involved in a head-to-head battle with his Mercedes team-mate, but stayed cool under pressure to secure his fourth consecutive pole with a 2.05.591s effort on a slippery track.

Hamilton was left to rue costly errors at La Source and the Bus stop chicane on flying laps, where he had been quicker than Rosberg earlier in Q3, as he trailed his team-mate by two tenths.

Meanwhile, Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel put his engine problems from Friday free practice behind him to secure third place on the grid.

The reigning world champion, who the Belgian Grand Prix last year, was more than two seconds adrift of Rosberg.

A wet track greeted the drivers at the start of qualifying but by the time Q3 began sunny spells saw the track start to dry.

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso came through to snatch fourth while Daniel Ricciardo was fifth. The Western Australian was on course to secure third but a mistake at the ultra fast run towards the Bus Stop chicane proved to be the deciding factor.

Williams‘ Valtteri Bottas could only post a time good enough for sixth ahead of McLaren’s Kevin Magnussen and Ferrari’s Spa ace Kimi Raikkonen.

Felipe Massa and Jenson Button rounded out the top 10 with the experienced pair unable to find the required pace.

Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat narrowly missed out on securing a spot in the pole position shootout after being pipped to the top 10 by late efforts from Vettel and Button.

The Russian’s team-mate Jean-Eric Vergne will start from 12th ahead of Force India’s Sergio Perez, Sauber’s Adrian Sutil and Lotus‘ Romain Grosjean.

After impressing to qualify for Q2, Marussia’s Jules Bianchi could only secure 16th spot.

Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg produced the biggest surprise in Q1 as he failed to progress to Q2 for the first time since the 2012 Italian Grand Prix. The German will start Sunday’s race from 18th just behind Lotus‘ Pastor Maldonado.

Marussia’s Max Chilton and Sauber’s Esteban Gutierrez also failed to make Q2, while F1 debutant Andre Lotterer out-qualified his Caterham team-mate Marcus Ericsson by almost a second for 21st position.

Belgian Grand Prix Qualifying Results

Position Driver Team Time Gap
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 2:05.591s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 2:05.819s +0.228s
3 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 2:07.717s +2.126s
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 2:07.786s +2.195s
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 2:07.911s +2.320s
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 2:08.049s +2.458s
7 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 2:08.679s +3.088s
8 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 2:08.780s +3.189s
9 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 2:09.178s +3.587s
10 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 2:09.776s +4.185s
11 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 2:09.377s Q2 +2.768s
12 Jean-Eric Vergn Toro Rosso-Renault 2:09.805s Q2 +3.196s
13 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 2:10.084s Q2 +3.475s
14 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 2:10.238s Q2 +3.629s
15 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 2:11.087s Q2 +4.478s
16 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 2:12.470s Q2 +5.861s
17 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 2:11.261s Q1 +4.131s
18 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 2:11.267s Q1 +4.137s
19 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 2:12.566s Q1 +5.436s
20 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 2:13.414s Q1 +6.284s
21 Andre Lotterer Caterham-Renault 2:13.469s Q1 +6.339s
22 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 2:14.438s Q1 +7.308s


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]