Hamilton sets blistering Spa practice pace

Saturday 23rd August, 2014 - 12:18am


Lewis Hamilton set the pace in practice for the Belgian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton set the pace in practice for the Belgian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton sent a message to his title rival Nico Rosberg as he blitzed the Spa Francorchamps circuit to end Friday practice for the Belgian Grand Prix at the top of the timesheets.

The Mercedes driver ended the second free practice session six tenths of a second clear of his team-mate after posting a blistering quick session best of 1.48.189s, on soft tyres, in the second half of a truncated 90 minute session.

Nico Rosberg, who topped the opening free practice outing, had no answer to Hamilton’s pace with the German clearly slower in all three sectors.

Fernando Alonso showed encouraging pace for Ferrari as he set the third fastest time just a tenth adrift of Rosberg. Meanwhile, the Spaniard’s team-mate Kimi Raikkonen continued to struggle with the back end of his F14 T, leaving the Finn in 15th spot.

Williams appear to be in the frame for another strong weekend with drivers Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas sandwiching the improving McLaren of Jenson Button in fifth.

It proved to be a difficult day for Red Bull Racing with Daniel Ricciardo only managing to post a time good enough for eighth behind the sister Toro Rosso car of Daniil Kvyat.

There were further dramas for the world champion team as Sebastian Vettel was forced to sit out free practice two with an electrical problem. The team elected to undergo an engine change to his RB10.

The German had been suffering with gearbox and exhaust issues in the morning practice session, which saw him bank just 11 laps.

McLaren’s Kevin Magnussen and Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg rounded out the top 10.

The second session was stopped twice after Lotus‘ Pastor Maldonado suffered a high speed accident at Pouhon, before Sauber’s Esteban Gutierrez endured a spin at Blanchimont.

Max Chilton returned to the wheel of his Marussia after his team previosuly dropped him for the race in favour of Alexander Rossi, who took over the drive in morning free practice. A late burst of pace from the Brit saw him climb to 18th position.

F1 debutant Andre Lotterer recorded 48 trouble free laps behind the wheel of his Caterham ending the day just shy of his team-mate Marcus Ericsson in 20th spot.

Belgian Grand Prix Free Practice 1 Results

Position Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:51.577s 25
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:51.674s +0.097s 24
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:51.805s +0.228s 16
4 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:52.404s +0.827s 21
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:52.818s +1.241s 17
6 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1:52.903s +1.326s 24
7 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1:52.922s +1.345s 23
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:52.937s +1.360s 22
9 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1:52.972s +1.395s 19
10 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1:53.172s +1.595s 20
11 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:53.369s +1.792s 11
12 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1:53.594s +2.017s 21
13 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:53.597s +2.020s 20
14 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1:53.703s +2.126s 14
15 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1:53.968s +2.391s 20
16 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1:54.189s +2.612s 20
17 Giedo van der Garde Sauber-Ferrari 1:54.335s +2.758s 16
18 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 1:55.336s +3.759s 21
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1:55.782s +4.205s 19
20 Alexander Rossi Marussia-Ferrari 1:57.232s +5.655s 20
21 Andre Lotterer Caterham-Renault 1:57.886s +6.309s 24
22 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1:57.977s +6.400s 24

Belgian Grand Prix Free Practice 2 Results

Position Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:49.189s 26
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:49.793s +0.604s 28
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:49.930s +0.741s 19
4 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1:50.327s +1.138s 24
5 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:50.659s +1.470s 31
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1:50.677s +1.488s 26
7 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1:50.725s +1.536s 25
8 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1:50.977s +1.788s 16
9 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1:51.074s +1.885s 31
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:51.077s +1.888s 26
11 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1:51.383s +2.194s 26
12 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1:51.450s +2.261s 29
13 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1:51.573s +2.384s 28
14 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:52.196s +3.007s 25
15 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:52.234s +3.045s 18
16 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1:52.776s +3.587s 23
17 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1:53.955s +4.766s  7
18 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 1:54.040s +4.851s 18
19 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1:54.050s +4.861s 30
20 Andre Lotterer Caterham-Renault 1:54.093s +4.904s 24
21 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault no time  2
22 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault no time has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!