Piquet Jr and Tung join Formula E line up


Thursday 21st August, 2014 - 8:30pm


Nelson Piquet jnr

Nelson Piquet jnr

Former F1 driver Nelson Piquet Jr and experienced single seater racer Ho-Pin Tung will compete in the FIA Formula E championship having agreed deals with China Racing.

The Chinese outfit’s announcement leaves just Andretti Autosport to unveil the identity of its second driver to complete the field for the electric series’ inaugural season.

Piquet Jr joins the team with a wealth of experience after spells in F1 (Renault),  A1GP, GP2 and British F3.

The Brazilian son of former F1 world champion Nelson Piquet, has been competing in the Global Rallycross Championship this season.

“I have always enjoyed the challenge of testing myself in a variety of racing formats so I’m delighted to be able to drive in Formula E,” said Piquet Jr.

“To be a driver in the very first FIA Formula E championship is a great honour particularly with Team China Racing who are looking to establish themselves in the sport.”

In the opposite side of the garage, Tung is one China’s most famous drivers having raced in GP2, A1GP and Indycar.

The 31-year-old also became the first Chinese driver to test an F1 car when he teamed up with Williams in 2003.

“It’s great to be one of the drivers with China Racing in Formula E, especially at the opening round in Beijing,” said Tung.

“I tested the Formula E car a few months ago and it’s really a challenge to get used to the electric racing car. I look forward to a fantastic start in Beijing.”

GT driver Antonio Garcia will act as the team’s reserve driver. The Spanish Corvette factory pilot has already tested with the team.

The inaugural round of the FIA Formula E Championship will take place on the streets of Beijing on September 13.

FIA Formula E field so far:



Andretti Autosport

Franck Montagny, TBA

Audi Sport ABT

Lucas Di Grassi, Daniel Abt

China Racing

Nelson Piquet jr, Ho-Pin Tung

Dragon Racing

Mike Conway, Jerome d’Ambrosio


Jarno Trulli, Michela Cerruti

e.dams Renault

Sebastien Buemi/Nicolas Prost

Mahindra Racing

Bruno Senna, Karun Chandhok

Amlin Aguri

Katherine Legge, Antonio Felix da Costa

Venturi Grand Prix

Nick Heidfeld, Stephane Sarrazin

Virgin Racing

Jaime Alguersuari, Sam Bird