Dumbrell takes points lead with Race 2 win

Sunday 3rd August, 2014 - 3:00pm


Paul Dumbrell returned to the points lead with the Race 2 win

Paul Dumbrell returned to the points lead with the Race 2 win

Paul Dumbrell returned to the lead of the Dunlop Series by defeating Ashley Walsh in Race 2 at Queensland Raceway.

The Eggleston Motorsport driver overtook Walsh for the top spot with just three of the 29 laps remaining, pulling away to win by an even second.

The result secured Dumbrell his second round win in five starts and puts him four points in front of the Matt Stone Racing Ford pilot heading to Bathurst in October.

Dumbrell had started the reverse top 10 grid Race 2 from 10th following his win on Saturday.

Holding 10th on the opening lap, he methodically climbed his way to third by the time the race’s one and only Safety Car was called on lap nine.

Easing by second-placed Paul Morris on the restart lap, Dumbrell then pressured Walsh for the majority of the journey before finally making an inside pass at Turn 3.

“What a great weekend to bounce back,” said Dumbrell, who had lost the series lead to Walsh when he missed the Sunday race at Barbagallo due to business commitments in Melbourne.

“We’ve had a few tough, inconsistent weekends but we’ve certainly shown this weekend that we’ve got the speed.

“We can’t wait to come to Bathurst for the big 250km race.

“There’s a couple of races still to go, (which is) a long way in the championship.”

Second in Race 2 was enough to ensure Walsh second for the round; a strong recovery after starting the opening heat from the tail of the field.

“We may have started today with the tyre pressures a bit high and I could not hold Paul out,” noted Walsh.

“The car wasn’t bad; we just did not have quite enough to hang on at the end.

“Bathurst is going to be tough with the longer 250km race, but we are right in this championship with only a handful of points between the two of us.”

The weekend podium was completed by Aaren Russell, who backed up his career best second place finish from Saturday with a solid eighth.

“I don’t think words can describe it at the moment,” beamed Russell post-race.

“We have worked so hard so to see the team on the podium is such a good feeling.

“I was so nervous standing at the podium I didn’t know what to do with the champagne. I was like ‘do I just shake it and it comes out’? I had no idea.”

Cameron Waters rebounded from his tough Saturday, cutting through from 19th on the grid to finish Race 2 in third.

Paul Morris took fourth after leading two laps early, while Ant Pedersen, Garry Jacobson, Jack Le Brocq, Russell, Tim Blanchard and Todd Hazelwood completed the top 10.

Blanchard and Hazelwood had maturely moved their way through from 21st and 23rd on the grid respectively.

The early Safety Car was called to retrieve Dan Day’s Holden from the front-straight after the youngster rear-ended fellow ex-Walkinshaw Racing Holden driver Josh Kean.

Early leader Marcus Zukanovic was also in the wars, stranded in the Turn 6 gravel after an incident involving Macauley Jones.

Twenty-eight cars started Race 2, with the two Dragon Motorsport entries of Ben Schoots and Kristian Lindbom having fallen by the wayside after engine problems and accident damage in qualifying and Race 1 respectively.

Result: Race 2, Dunlop Series

1 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:13.29
2 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 29 38:14.29
3 TEAM ENZED FPR Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 29 38:20.50
4 United Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 29 38:28.07
5 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:28.56
6 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:30.94
7 Image Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 29 38:32.43
8 Go Karts Go/North Side Fire Se Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 29 38:33.92
9 Cool Drive Distribution/MWM Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG 29 38:34.46
10 Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 29 38:35.09
11 A.L.B. Distributors Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:35.67
12 Finance Ezi/MW Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 29 38:36.36
13 Haber Xcavations/MW Motorsport Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 29 38:36.87
14 Wilson Security Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 29 38:37.05
15 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:38.09
16 R&J Batteries Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:38.76
17 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:42.04
18 Pacific Hoists/Halda Race Pilo Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:49.54
19 Rev Trans WA/Evolution Custom Phil Woodbury Holden Commodore VE2 29 38:53.53
20 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 29 38:59.89
21 Mocomm Communications Jim Pollicina Ford Falcon FG 29 39:00.89
22 Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 29 39:01.35
23 Think Holden Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 29 39:03.17
24 Voight Contracting Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 29 39:20.26
25 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon fg 28 38:48.37
DNF McGill Motorsport Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 19 27:04.44
DNF Wynn’s/Vili’s Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 8 10:00.42
DNF Street Figher Dan Day Holden Commodore VE2 8 10:02.96

Round 5 result

1 Paul Dumbrell 300
2 Ashley Walsh 249
3 Aaren Russell 228
4 Garry Jacobson 222
5 Paul Morris 210
6 Ant Pedersen 207
7 Andrew Jones 201
8 Jack Le Brocq 198
9 Cameron Waters 177
10 Morgan Haber 144
11 Tim Blanchard 126
12 Brett Stewart 123
13 Marcus Zukanovic 114
14 Phil Woodbury 108
15 Macauley Jones 108
16 Matt Hansen 96
17 Jim Pollicina 93
18 Michael Hector 84
19 Todd Hazelwood 78
20 Aaron Tebb 78
21 Andre Heimgartner 69
22 Josh Kean 66
23 Steven Johnson 63
24 Aaron McGill 63
25 Chris Pither 60
26 Geoff Emery 57
27 Dan Day 54
28 Brett Hobson 51
29 Kristian Lindbom 0
30 Ben Schoots 0

Updated points after Round 5

1 Paul Dumbrell 1236
2 Ashley Walsh 1232
3 Andre Heimgartner 921
4 Chris Pither 881
5 Paul Morris 879
6 Cameron Waters 875
7 Ant Pedersen 873
8 Garry Jacobson 869
9 Andrew Jones 755
10 Aaren Russell 749
11 Todd Hazelwood 744
12 Geoff Emery 596
13 Jack Le Brocq 594
14 Matt Hansen 543
15 Morgan Haber 533
16 Marcus Zukanovic 510
17 Brett Stewart 501
18 Dean Fiore 462
19 Michael Hector 423
20 Fredrik Lestrup 393
21 Aaron McGill 366
22 Dan Day 363
23 Taz Douglas 335
24 Jim Pollicina 311
25 Josh Kean 242
26 Steve Owen 228
27 Steven Johnson 228
28 Macauley Jones 228
29 Aaron Tebb 228
30 Jordan Ormsby 207
31 Adam Wallis 180
32 Tim Blanchard 126
33 Phil Woodbury 108
34 Jay Verdnik 108
35 Ryan Simpson 90
36 Garth Walden 75
37 Shane Price 63
38 Paul McKinnon 51
39 Brett Hobson 51
40 Ben Porter 48
41 Tim Macrow 39
42 Josh Hunter 33
43 Kristian Lindbom 0
44 Ben Schoots 0 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!