Red Bull one-two after rivals collide in Race 24

McLaughlin and Caruso would eventually collide while disputing the lead

McLaughlin and Caruso would eventually collide while disputing the lead

A clash between early leaders Scott McLaughlin and Michael Caruso left Jamie Whincup to lead home another Red Bull one-two in Race 24 at Queensland Raceway.

Pole-sitter McLaughlin jumped away to an early lead while fellow front-row starter Caruso fought to hold out Whincup in the opening laps.

The Nissan proved to be the fastest car as the race unfolded, however, eventually reeling in the Volvo by the halfway mark of the 33 lap encounter.

Stalking his rival for several laps, Caruso eventually pulled a late dive with 11 laps to go at Turn 6; resulting in contact with the right-rear of the Volvo.

The hit saw McLaughlin spin while Caruso was handed a drive-through penalty.

Whincup, who had been closing on Caruso at the time of the incident, managed to hold out Lowndes over the remaining laps to record a narrow victory.

The result came despite multiple mechanical scares for Whincup, including engine problems in the closing stages.

The win is Whincup’s sixth in eight races and sees the five-time champion close Mark Winterbottom’s points lead to 48.

Chaz Mostert flew the Ford Performance Racing flag highest in Race 24, getting the better of Shane van Gisbergen in the closing stages to complete the podium.

Rick Kelly salvaged fifth for Nissan after a late-race dice with Winterbottom, while Nick Percat, Garth Tander, Fabian Coulthard and James Courtney completed the top 10.

McLaughlin limped home 19th while Caruso was 24th.

Caruso apologised to the Volvo star immediately after the race, but said he had no regrets over attempting the move.

Qualifying and a 200km Race 25 will complete the Coates Hire Ipswich 400 on Sunday.

Result: Race 24

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 33 39:06.38
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 33 39:06.88
3 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 33 39:18.63
4 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 33 39:24.56
5 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 33 39:26.50
6 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 33 39:26.60
7 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 33 39:27.06
8 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 33 39:27.43
9 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 33 39:28.22
10 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 33 39:29.70
11 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 33 39:30.03
12 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 33 39:30.45
13 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 33 39:30.83
14 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 33 39:32.92
15 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 33 39:34.37
16 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 33 39:35.13
17 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 33 39:35.76
18 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 33 39:36.51
19 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 33 39:38.18
20 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 33 39:38.44
21 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 33 39:38.83
22 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 33 39:40.56
23 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 33 39:41.07
24 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 33 39:43.56
25 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 33 39:46.76

Championship points after Race 24

1 Mark Winterbottom 1736
2 Jamie Whincup 1688
3 Craig Lowndes 1490
4 Fabian Coulthard 1463
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 1454
6 James Courtney 1448
7 Scott McLaughlin 1299
8 Garth Tander 1225
9 Chaz Mostert 1193
10 David Reynolds 1171
11 Jason Bright 1071
12 Will Davison 992
13 Michael Caruso 969
14 Lee Holdsworth 946
15 Rick Kelly 945
16 Scott Pye 938
17 James Moffat 906
18 Russell Ingall 897
19 Tim Slade 873
20 Nick Percat 872
21 David Wall 786
22 Dale Wood 686
23 Jack Perkins 646
24 Todd Kelly 620
25 Robert Dahlgren 474


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]