Will Davison continues form in Practice 2

Will Davison narrowly eclipsed his own Practice 1 benchmark

Will Davison narrowly eclipsed his own Practice 1 benchmark

Will Davison kept his Erebus Mercedes-Benz atop the order in the second 20 minute practice session for the V8 Supercars at Queensland Raceway.

The former Bathurst winner was the only driver to lap faster than his own morning 1:10.08s best, clocking 1:09.93s as the chequered flag flew.

Ford Performance Racing duo Mark Winterbottom and Chaz Mostert had held down the top two spots prior to Davison’s final attempt.

Holden drivers Shane van Gisbergen and Russell Ingall filled fourth and fifth respectively, with the latter having enjoyed a brief spell at the top mid-session.

Robert Dahlgren was the first of the Volvos in sixth ahead of Nick Percat, James Moffat, James Courtney and Lee Holdsworth.

Drivers spent the early part of the session adapting to windy conditions which complicated the task of set-up tuning ahead of the weekend’s qualifying and races.

Noting the challenge posed by the wind, Davison said he was encouraged by his team’s form.

“It’s certainly promising; we’ve rolled out a good car,” he told Speedcafe.com.

“We’ve got a small engine upgrade that I was hoping might get us a bit of free lap time.

“The conditions are changing and I think everyone got caught out by the wind and what it was doing to the car.

“Everyone seemed to put a second set of tyres on then,” he added.

“We were tuning for a race car then so I didn’t expect to go quicker.

“We didn’t effectively run the best tyre we could run at the end of that session.

“It was a compromised set of tyres so the third session will be the true test.”

As was the case in Practice 1, the second session ran green for its duration.

Nissan driver Todd Kelly had the only notable incident; running through the gravel at Turn 3 in the early stages.

The third and final 20 minute session of the day will kickoff at 1510 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 2

1 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:09.92
2 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:10.08 00.16
3 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 1:10.10 00.17
4 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:10.12 00.19
5 Repair Management Australia Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 1:10.26 00.34
6 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 1:10.28 00.35
7 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:10.32 00.40
8 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:10.35 00.42
9 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:10.37 00.44
10 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 1:10.44 00.52
11 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:10.47 00.54
12 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:10.47 00.55
13 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:10.49 00.56
14 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:10.50 00.57
15 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:10.50 00.58
16 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:10.52 00.59
17 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:10.58 00.65
18 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 1:10.59 00.67
19 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:10.59 00.67
20 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 1:10.64 00.71
21 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:10.67 00.75
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:10.69 00.76
23 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 1:10.69 00.77
24 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:10.94 01.01
25 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:11.02 01.10


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]