Davison tops opening practice at Ipswich

Tom Howard

Friday 1st August, 2014 - 10:47am


Will Davison was fastest in Practice 1

Will Davison was fastest in Practice 1

Will Davison topped the opening practice session of the Coates Hire Ipswich 400 at Queensland Raceway.

The Erebus Motorsport driver headed the times for the majority of the 20 minute session, posting a best just 0.013s quicker than Brad Jones Racing’s Jason Bright.

The Erebus team was one of four to test at Queensland Raceway last week and has brought a lightly revised engine package to the event.

Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom was third fastest having briefly topped the times during the session.

Team-mate Chaz Mostert was fourth as FPR showed strong early pace around the six-turn circuit.

Tekno Autosport’s Shane van Gisbergen was fifth quickest while Erebus Motorsport managed to get both their cars into the top six with Lee Holdsworth next in the order.

Scott Pye was seventh for Dick Johnson Racing at their home venue ahead of Nissan Motorsport’s Michael Caruso.

The Bottle-O Falcon of David Reynolds and Brad Jones Racing’s Fabian Coulthard rounded out the top 10.

Triple Eight title contenders Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes finished outside the top 10 in 12th and 24th positions respectively.

The second of three 20 minute practice sessions for the V8 Supercars at Queensland Raceway will kick-off at 1315 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 1 

1 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 01:10.08
2 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:10.08 00:00.00
3 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:10.11 00:00.03
4 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:10.24 00:00.16
5 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:10.29 00:00.21
6 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:10.31 00:00.23
7 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 01:10.31 00:00.23
8 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:10.32 00:00.24
9 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:10.36 00:00.27
10 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:10.36 00:00.28
11 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 01:10.36 00:00.28
12 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:10.50 00:00.42
13 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:10.54 00:00.46
14 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 01:10.57 00:00.49
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:10.60 00:00.52
16 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:10.60 00:00.52
17 Repair Management Aust Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:10.65 00:00.57
18 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 01:10.66 00:00.58
19 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:10.68 00:00.60
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:10.70 00:00.62
21 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 01:10.74 00:00.66
22 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:10.81 00:00.73
23 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 01:10.93 00:00.85
24 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:11.30 00:01.22
25 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 01:13.70 00:03.62 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!