British pair join Van Gisbergen for Spa 24 Hours

Ten Australasian drivers will be in action at Spa

Ten Australasian drivers will be in action at Spa

Experienced GT campaigners Rob Bell and Tim Mullen will join Shane van Gisbergen in Von Ryan Racing’s McLaren for this weekend’s Spa 24 Hours.

The 35-year-old Bell and 38-year-old Mullen are both well accustomed to McLaren machinery, teaming up for Spa last year in a Gulf Racing MP4-12C.

Confirmation of Mullen’s place in the squad comes via the release of the race’s full 61 car entry list.

The #101 Von Ryan Racing entry is a one-off for Spa and will be pitted against 17 others in the Pro Cup class.

The majority of the 10 Australasian drivers competing will race in the second-tier Pro-Am Cup.

As previously reported, Australians Craig Lowndes and Steven Wyatt will share AF Corse’s #52 Ferrari with Italians Michele Rugolo and Andrea Piccini, while Roger Lago teams with Steven Richards, David Russell and Steve Owen in an all-Australian Lamborghini entry.

Craig Lowndes has arrived at Spa after spending time at Red Bull headquarters in Austria

Craig Lowndes has arrived at Spa after spending time at Red Bull headquarters in Austria

Current Australian GT Championship leader Richard Muscat has meanwhile been paired with Russian Vladimir Lunkin, Saudi Arabian Saud Turki Al Faisal and German Christian Bracke in Black Falcon’s #18 Mercedes-Benz.

Kiwi Chris van der Drift will also be in action, teaming with Lebanese pair Alex Demirdjian and Shahan Sarkissian and a yet-to-be-named fourth driver in a Boutsen Ginion entered McLaren.

The final Australasian driver, Liam Talbot, is racing with American Stephen Earle, German Freddy Kremer and Briton Marcus Mahy in Kessel Racing’s #111 Gentleman Trophy Ferrari 458.

Many of the international runners will meanwhile be familiar to Australian fans having competed in this year’s Bathurst 12 Hour.

They consist of Bernd Schneider, Rene Rast, Laurens Vanthoor, Markus Winkelhock, Christopher Mies, Harold Primat, Maximilian Buhk, Katsumasa Chiyo, Alex Buncombe, Wolfgang Reip, Matt Griffin, Marco Cioci, Michele Rugolo and Marcus Mahy.

Including the Australasians, a total of 23 drivers will complete the Bathurst/Spa double.

Free practice will get underway on Thursday at Spa ahead of final qualifying on Friday and the race start on Saturday.

CLICK HERE for the full Spa 24 Hours entry list

VIDEO: Craig Lowndes previews Spa 24 Hours

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]