Rosberg cruises to German GP victory

Nico Rosberg cruised to victory in his home grand prix

Nico Rosberg cruised to victory in his home grand prix

Nico Rosberg extended his world championship lead with a dominant victory from pole position in the German Grand Prix at Hockenheim.

The local hero led every one of the 67 laps, stamping home his advantage by setting the fastest lap on the final tour.

Valtteri Bottas held off Rosberg’s Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton to take a third consecutive podium for Williams in second.

The pair were more than 20 seconds adrift of Rosberg at the flag, with Hamilton having charged through from 20th on the grid following a brake failure in qualifying.

Hamilton’s podium also came despite a mid-race clash with Jenson Button that damaged the front-wing of the Mercedes and forced a switch to a three-stop strategy.

Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso finished fourth and fifth respectively after dicing with each other for much of the race.

The Ferrari driver was forced to battle Vettel’s Red Bull team-mate Daniel Riccairdo in the closing stages thanks to a late third stop, however, eventually taking the flag less than 0.1s ahead of the Australian.

Ricciardo had fallen from fifth to 14th at the first corner as he ran wide to avoid a clash between Felipe Massa and Kevin Magnussen in front of him.

Magnussen had made an impressive start from fourth and was down the inside of Massa at the first corner when the Williams driver turned in.

The resulting contact flipped Massa’s car onto its roll-hoop, triggering a two-lap Safety Car period.

Magnussen recovered to finish ninth behind fellow Mercedes-powered drivers Nico Hulkenberg (Force India) and the Dane’s McLaren team-mate Jenson Button.

Sergio Perez completed the top 10 having survived contact with Daniil Kvyat during the first stint that sent the Toro Rosso into a spin.

The Russian’s race eventually came to an end when a spectacular fire forced him to pull off in the Turn 4 run-off with 23 laps remaining.

Adrian Sutil also struck trouble in the closing stages, spinning his Sauber into retirement at the final corner three laps later.

Although the German’s car was left stricken across the circuit, race officials elected to recover the car under local yellows.

Rosberg’s championship lead over team-mate Hamilton has grown by 10 points to 14 ahead of the Hungarian Grand Prix next weekend.

Result: German Grand Prix

Pos Driver Team Laps Time/Retired Grid
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 67 Winner 1
2 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 67 +20.7 secs 2
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 67 +22.5 secs 20
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 67 +44.0 secs 6
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 67 +52.4 secs 7
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 67 +52.5 secs 5
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 67 +64.1 secs 9
8 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 67 +84.7 secs 11
9 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 66 +1 Lap 4
10 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 66 +1 Lap 10
11 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari +1 Lap 12
12 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault +1 Lap 18
13 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault +1 Lap 13
14 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari +1 Lap 16
15 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari +1 Lap 17
16 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault +2 Lap 19
17 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari +2 Lap 21
18 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault +2 Lap 22
Ret Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari +20 Laps 15
Ret Daniil Kvyat STR-Renault +23 Laps 8
Ret Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault +41 Laps 14
Ret Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes + secs 3

Updated championship standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Nico Rosberg 190
2 Lewis Hamilton 176
3 Daniel Ricciardo 106
4 Fernando Alonso 97
5 Valtteri Bottas 91
6 Sebastian Vettel 82
7 Nico Hulkenberg 69
8 Jenson Button 59
9 Kevin Magnussen 37
10 Felipe Massa 30
11 Sergio Perez 29
12 Kimi Räikkönen 19
13 Jean-Eric Vergne 9
14 Romain Grosjean 8
15 Daniil Kvyat 6
16 Jules Bianchi 2
17 Adrian Sutil 0
18 Marcus Ericsson 0
19 Pastor Maldonado 0
20 Esteban Gutierrez 0
21 Max Chilton 0
22 Kamui Kobayashi 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]