Marquez snatches pole as Pedrosa falls

Marc Marquez snatches pole at the Sachsenring

Marc Marquez snatches pole at the Sachsenring

Marc Marquez will start the MotoGP German Grand Prix from pole after snatching the position from Honda-team mate Dani Pedrosa in an eventful qualifying session at the Sachsenring.

The reigning world champion capitalised on a fall from Pedrosa who had held provisional pole for towards the end of the session.

Pedrosa fell on his final run at Turn 1 and in a cruel twist of fate his team-mate usurped him at the top of the time sheets as his final effort proved enough to grab pole position by two tenths of a second.

Despite the fall, Pedrosa will line up in second on the grid with local rider Stefan Bradl third on the LCR Honda just four tenths adrift of Marquez’s leading time.

Forward Yamaha’s Aleix Espargaro proved to be the quickest Yamaha in fourth as he converted his impressive free practice pace in qualifying.

Double world champion Jorge Lorenzo was fifth just ahead of team-mate Valentino Rossi, who agreed a new two-year deal with the Japanese marque this week.

Andrea Iannone was the top Ducati in seventh with the Italian joined on row three by the Monster Yamaha duo of Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith.

The top works Ducati was Andrea Dovizioso who could only manage to post a time good enough 11th position behind Gresini Honda’s Alvaro Bautista.

MotoGP German Grand Prix Qualifying Results 

Position Rider Team/Bike Time Gap
1 Marc Marquez Honda 1m20.937s
2 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1m21.233s +0.296s
3 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda 1m21.340s +0.403s
4 Aleix Espargaro Forward Yamaha 1m21.376s +0.439s
5 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1m21.508s +0.571s
6 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1m21.651s +0.714s
7 Andrea Iannone Pramac Ducati 1m21.679s +0.741s
8 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 1m21.771s +0.834s
9 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1m21.794s +0.857s
10 Alvaro Bautista Gresini Honda 1m21.906s +0.969s
11 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1m22.120s +1.183s
12 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1m22.647s +1.710s
13 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Ducati 1m22.411s Q1
14 Scott Redding Gresini Honda 1m22.436s Q1
15 Cal Crutchlow Ducati 1m22.529s Q1
16 Hiroshi Aoyama Aspar Honda 1m22.659s Q1
17 Karel Abraham Cardion Honda 1m22.778s Q1
18 Michael Laverty PBM Aprilia 1m22.845s Q1
19 Colin Edwards Forward Yamaha 1m22.888s Q1
20 Hector Barbera Avintia FTR-Kawasaki 1m23.029s Q1
21 Mike di Meglio Avintia FTR-Kawasaki 1m23.423s Q1
22 Broc Parkes PBM Aprilia 1m23.428s Q1
23 Danilo Petrucci Ioda Aprilia 1m23.484s Q1


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]