Waters edges Walsh to Dunlop Series pole

Cameron Waters took his third career pole

Cameron Waters took his third career pole

Cameron Waters took pole position for Race 1 of the Dunlop Series in Townsville by bumping Ash Walsh from the top spot in the dying stages of qualifying.

Walsh had set a benchmark of 1:14.52s on his first flying lap of the upper 50 percent session that stood until the chequered flag fell.

Waters, electing to do just one run in the 15 minutes, lost time with small mistakes on his first two laps before backing off and then rebounding with a 1:14.43s.

The Eggleston Motorsport Holdens of Paul Dumbrell, Garry Jacobson and Ant Pedersen will start third, fourth and sixth respectively after their best laps all fell within 0.2s of one another.

Brad Jones Racing’s Chris Pither and Andrew Jones recorded the fifth and seventh best times, while the squad’s third car will start 19th in the hands of debutant Macauley Jones.

The Formula Ford graduate had been fourth fastest of the lower 50 percent runners behind Morgan Haber, Josh Kean and Marcus Zukanovic.

Haber’s time eventually proved good enough for 15th; 1.2s from Waters’ pole-setting pace.

Eighth through 14th was filled by the Fords of Steven Johnson, Andre Heimgartner, Aaren Russell, Dean Fiore, Todd Hazelwood, Paul Morris and Jack Le Brocq.

The opening Dunlop Series race of the weekend will kick-off at 1530.

Qualifying: Dunlop Series, Townsville Race 1

1 TEAM ENZED FPR Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 01:14.43
2 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 01:14.52 00:00.09
3 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 01:14.76 00:00.33
4 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 01:14.77 00:00.34
5 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 01:14.88 00:00.45
6 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 01:14.94 00:00.51
7 A.L.B. Distributors Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 01:15.00 00:00.57
8 Wilson Security Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 01:15.00 00:00.57
9 Finance Ezi/MW Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 01:15.09 00:00.66
10 Go Karts Go/North Side Fire Se Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 01:15.13 00:00.70
11 R&T Pumps/MW Motorsport Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 01:15.18 00:00.74
12 Thomas Steel Fabrication Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 01:15.24 00:00.81
13 United Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 01:15.27 00:00.84
14 Image Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 01:15.38 00:00.95
15 Haber Xcavations/MW Motorsport Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 01:15.65 00:01.21
16 R&J Batteries Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 01:15.79 00:01.36
17 Wynn’s/Vili’s Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 01:15.82 00:01.39
18 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon FG 01:15.83 00:01.40
19 Think Holden Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 01:15.86 00:01.43
20 Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 01:16.48 00:02.05
21 Street Fighter Dan Day Holden Commodore VE2 01:16.59 00:02.16
22 Pacific Hoists/Halda Race Pilo Fredrik Lestrup Holden Commodore VE2 01:16.94 00:02.51
23 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE2 01:17.22 00:02.79
24 Worldwide Gaming Tim Macrow Holden Commodore VE2 01:17.23 00:02.80
25 McGill Motorsport Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 01:17.27 00:02.83
26 Mocomm Communication Jim Pollicina Ford Falcon FG 01:17.32 00:02.89
27 Rev Trans WA/Evolution Custom Paul McKinnon Holden Commodore VE2 01:17.37 00:02.94
28 Warrin Mining/Volvo Constructi Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE2 01:17.39 00:02.96
29 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 01:17.75 00:03.32
30 Voight Contracting Aaron Tebb Holden Commodore VE2 01:18.32 00:03.89



Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]