Vettel heads Ricciardo in final practice

Sebastian Vettel topped the final practice session at Silverstone

Sebastian Vettel topped the final practice session at Silverstone

Sebastian Vettel pipped Daniel Ricciardo in the final free practice session held in tricky wet conditions at Silverstone.

The Red Bull team confirmed their strong wet weather setup with Vettel heading his Australian team-mate by just over a tenth of a second.

Lotus issued a surprise with Pastor Maldonado third just ahead of his opposite number Romain Grosjean.

Adrian Sutil was fifth for Sauber with Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat sixth fastest.

Both Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton were stationed in the garage for the majority of the session in a bid to save tyres for qualifying, which is expected to be held in wet conditions.

The pair failed to register a flying lap and banked just nine laps between them.

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso followed Mercedes’ strategy recording four installation laps.

Heavy persistent rain in the morning ensured track conditions were particularly tricky with several drivers enduring nervy moments on track.

Ricciardo looked comfortable in the wetas he led the session at the halfway mark before he was edged by Vettel in the final quarter of the session.

McLaren proved to be the top Mercedes runners with Kevin Magnussen seventh and Jenson Button eighth.

Williams’ Valtteri Bottas was ninth with Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen rounding out the top 10.

The only driver to be caught out by the slippery track surface was Marussia’s Jules Bianchi who suffered a session ending trip into the gravel trap at Stowe.

Formula 1 British Grand Prix Free Practice 3 Results

Position Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:52.522s  6
2 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1:52.631s +0.109s  6
3 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 1:53.044s +0.522s 10
4 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:53.566s +1.044s  6
5 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1:53.585s +1.063s 12
6 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1:53.654s +1.132s 15
7 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1:53.911s +1.389s  5
8 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:54.041s +1.519s  6
9 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1:54.217s +1.695s  4
10 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:54.558s +2.036s  5
11 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1:54.602s +2.080s  6
12 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1:54.761s +2.239s 13
13 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1:55.003s +2.481s  4
14 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:55.688s +3.166s  6
15 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1:56.918s +4.396s  7
16 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1:57.091s +4.569s 10
17 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1:57.566s +5.044s  6
18 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 1:57.914s +5.392s 10
19 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari  1
20 Fernando Alonso Ferrari  4
21 Nico Rosberg Mercedes  4
22 Mercedes  5



Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]