Lucas di Grassi stars in second Formula E test

Lucas Di Grassi topped the times in the second day of FIA Formula E testing at Donington Park

Lucas Di Grassi topped the times in the second day of FIA Formula E testing at Donington Park

Audi sportscar star Lucas di Grassi set the pace in the second day of testing for the all new electric FIA Formula E Championship at Donington Park.

The Brazilian built on his impressive showing in the opening test by posting a 1.31.973 which was a tenth quicker than e.dams racer Sebastien Buemi.

Former F1 driver Nick Heidfeld was third quickest for Venturi ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Scott Speed.

“It was my first time driving the car with full power and I’m really pleased with the performance,” said di Grassi.

“With Daniel (Abt) at Silverstone for GP2, I had the use of two cars so was able to do a lot of work in race mode. We had very little problems and I was very pleased with the way the Abt team worked, and I’m looking forward to getting in the car next week.”   

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Formula E. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Lap times significantly improved as a result of the temporary chicane being removed. A host of drivers collected the tyre barrier used to create the corner.

Mahindra Racing’s Bruno Senna was fifth narrowly ahead of Antonio Garcia.

Nicolas Prost was seventh while Sam Bird, Jerome d’Ambrosio and Jarno Trulli completed the top 10.

IndyCar star Oriol Servia made his debut in the car driving for the Dragon Racing outfit and finished 11 seconds off the pace in 18th position.

He was joined by fellow newcomer and reigning GP2 champion Fabio Leimer, who took over Antonio Felix da Costa’s Aguri car, while the Portuguese driver was on reserve driver duties with Red Bull at the British Grand Prix.

FIA Formula E Testing Day 2 Results

Position Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Lucas di Grassi Abt 1m31.973s   37
2 Sebastien Buemi e.dams 1m32.089s +0.116s 41
3 Nick Heidfeld Venturi 1m32.373s +0.400s 49
4 Scott Speed Andretti 1m32.632s +0.559s 32
5 Bruno Senna Mahindra 1m32.960s +0.987s 47
6 Antonio Garcia China 1m32.966s +0.993s 48
7 Nicolas Prost e.dams 1m33.040s +1.067s 44
8 Sam Bird Virgin 1m33.072s +1.099s 56
9 Jerome d’Ambrosio China 1m33.178s +1.205s 45
10 Jarno Trulli Trulli 1m33.299s +1.326s 30
11 Franck Montagny Andretti 1m33.754s +1.781s 36
12 Fabio Leimer Aguri 1m33.792s +1.819s 51
13 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 1m34.006s +2.033s 51
14 Katherine Legge Aguri 1m34.071s +2.098s 37
15 Michela Cerruti Trulli 1m36.064s +4.091s 25
16 Jaime Alguersuari Virgin 1m36.962s +4.989s 42
17 Karun Chandhok Mahindra 1m37.415s +5.442s 17
18 Oriol Servia Dragon 1m43.239s +11.037s 8
19 Mike Conway Dragon 1m44.698s +12.725s 7


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]