Evans in position to fight for maiden win

Mitch Evans hoping to end his run without victory at Silverstone

Mitch Evans hoping to end his run without victory at Silverstone

GP2 racer Mitch Evans is confident he can record a maiden victory in the series after starring in qualifying at Silverstone.

The Auckland ace will start Saturday’s feature race from third on the grid after being pipped to pole position by Ferrari junior driver Raffaele Marciello.

Just 0.039s covered the top four with Evans only 33 hundredths adrift of Marciello’s pole time. Championship leader Joylon Palmer claimed the final place on the front row.

The 19-year-old looked odds on to record his maiden GP2 victory at Silverstone last year before a pit lane speeding penalty forced him to surrender a healthy lead.

Having yet to record a victory in the Formula 1 feeder series, the 19-year-old believes he has a great chance to end his winless run this weekend.

“I think we have got a really good chance of victory and it a bit of relief as we didn’t look too good in practice,” Evans told Speedcafe.

“There was a little bit of a question mark over the car before qualifying but it went really well and I put a nice lap together but it wasn’t quite enough.

“I hope that win is going to come but you can never force these things. Its been really frustrating to go this far in the championship and not win a race and bit painful to be honest.

“I was very close to winning this race last year but I think I have got a much better package this year. It will be interesting to see how everyone performs on both tyres.

“You cannot plan these GP2 race this season.”

Evans is eighth in the GP2 standings heading into this weekend’s fifth round of the championship.

GP2 Series Silverstone Qualifying Results

Position Driver Team Time Gap
1 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1:40.445s
2 Jolyon Palmer DAMS 1:40.472s +0.027
3 Mitch Evans Russian Time 1:40.478s +0.033
4 Julian Leal Carlin 1:40.484s +0.039
5 Stoffel Vandoorne ART 1:40.646s +0.201
6 Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:40.658s +0.213
7 Marco Sorensen MP 1:40.658s +0.213
8 Stephane Richelmi DAMS 1:40.762s +0.317
9 Johnny Cecotto Jr Trident 1:40.845s +0.400
10 Daniel Abt Hilmer 1:40.880s +0.435
11 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 1:40.885s +0.440
12 Arthur Pic Campos 1:40.961s +0.516
13 Simon Trummer Rapax 1:41.064s +0.619
14 Rio Haryanto Caterham 1:41.166s +0.721
15 Sergio Canamasas Trident 1:41.196s +0.751
16 Alexander Rossi Caterham 1:41.235s +0.790
17 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 1:41.252s +0.807
18 Daniel de Jong MP 1:41.330s +0.885
19 Nathanael Berthon Lazarus 1:41.362s +0.917
20 Jon Lancaster Hilmer 1:41.549s +1.104
21 Conor Daly Lazarus 1:41.556s +1.111
22 Kimiya Sato Campos 1:41.686s +1.241
23 Andre Negrao Arden 1:41.908s +1.463
24 Takuya Izawa ART 1:42.003s +1.558
25 Rene Binder Arden 1:42.373s +1.928
26 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:42.724s +2.279


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]