Sebastien Buemi tops maiden Formula E test

Sebastien Buemi topped the times on the first day of the opening FIA Formula E test

Sebastien Buemi topped the times on the first day of the opening FIA Formula E test

Former Toro Rosso Formula 1 driver Sebastien Buemi topped the times in the opening FIA Formula E Championship pre-season test session at Donington Park.

The Swiss driver quickly adapted to his electric powered e dams-Renault machine to post a session best 1.35.475s effort at a modified Donington Park circuit.

Audi Sport driver Lucas Di Grassi was just a little over half a second slower than Buemi, while Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird was third fastest.

“I’m more than happy to be honest,” said Buemi.

“I didn’t have any problems with the car at all and that meant we were able to learn quite a lot about it. It’s always nice to be P1 so let’s hope it continues.”

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Formula E. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

The championship’s 10 teams all took part in the session held at a bright and sunny Donington Park circuit, which included a temporary chicane at the exit of the Old Hairpin.

Mahindra Racing’s Bruno Senna was fourth fastest just under a second adrift of Buemi.

Venturi’s Stephane Sarrazin was fifth quickest just ahead of Nicolas Prost and grand prix winner Jarno Trulli.

Daniel Abt was eighth ahead of Jaime Alguersuari while Mahindra’s Karun Chandhok completed the top 10.

Former F1 driver Jerome d’Ambrosio and sporstcar racer Antonio Garcia joined China Racing for the test. The squad are yet to unveil either of its drivers for the upcoming season.

Indy 500 winner Gil De Ferran finished 17th out of the 20 car field as he tested one of Andretti Autosport’s machines.

The first FIA Formula E test will conclude on Friday ahead of the opening round on the streets of Beijing, China on September 13.

FIA Formula E Official Test Day 1 Results

Position Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Sebastien Buemi e dams-Renault 1.35.475s
2 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT +0.587s
3 Sam Bird Virgin Racing +0.895s
4 Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing +0.910s
5 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi +1.223s
6 Nicolas Prost e dams-Renault +1.232s
7 Jarno Trulli Trulli GP +1.494s
8 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT +1.737s
9 Jaime Alguersuari Virgin Racing +1.970s
10 Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing +2.057s
11 Franck Montagny Andretti Autosport +2.587s
12 Antonio Felix da Costa Amlin Aguri +2.604s
13 Jerome d’Ambrosio China Racing +2.611s
14 Antonio Garcia China Racing +2.729s
15 Nick Heidfeld Venturi +5.269s
16 Mike Conway Dragon Racing +5.693s
17 Gil de Ferran  Andretti Autosport +9.497s
18 Scott Speed Andretti Autosport +10.434s
19 Katherine Legge Amlin Aguri +12.821s
20 Michela Cerruti Trulli GP  No time


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]