Erebus one-two in final Friday practice

Erebus enjoyed a one-two in the third practice session

Erebus enjoyed a one-two in the third practice session

Lee Holdsworth led a one-two result for Erebus Motorsport in the final practice session of the day at the Castrol Townsville 500.

Holdsworth and team-mate Davison made the most of their new tyres in the closing stages of the 20 minute hit-out.

Holdsworth ran a 1:13.78s and then a 1:13.70s on his final two-lap run, while Davison chimed in with a 1:13.79s best.

Scott McLaughlin improved from fifth to third with 1:13.79s on his own final lap.

Jamie Whincup ended up fourth, less than 0.1s adrift of Holdsworth, after briefly taking the top spot with just under five minutes remaining.

The day’s earlier pace-setter, Shane van Gisbergen, wound up a further 0.1s back in fifth.

Jason Bright rebounded from his troubled Practice 2 in sixth ahead of Walkinshaw trio Nick Percat, James Courtney and Garth Tander.

Mark Winterbottom completed the top 10 after another session that saw the championship leading Ford Performance Racing Falcon fail to threaten the top runners.

Fabian Coulthard improved his difficult run with 11th, two places ahead of fellow title contender Craig Lowndes.

Robert Dahlgren’s Volvo returned to the track for Practice 3 following its incident earlier in the afternoon.

The Swede completed 11 laps to end up with the 22nd quickest time.

fourth practice session is scheduled to take place from 1030 local time tomorrow.

See below for the full Practice 3 result

1 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:13.70
2 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 01:13.79 00:00.09
3 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 01:13.79 00:00.09
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:13.80 00:00.10
5 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:13.91 00:00.21
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:13.95 00:00.25
7 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:14.10 00:00.40
8 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:14.12 00:00.42
9 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:14.12 00:00.42
10 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:14.14 00:00.44
11 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:14.18 00:00.48
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:14.18 00:00.48
13 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 01:14.28 00:00.58
14 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:14.29 00:00.59
15 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:14.35 00:00.65
16 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:14.37 00:00.67
17 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:14.45 00:00.75
18 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG 01:14.46 00:00.76
19 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 01:14.55 00:00.85
20 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:14.66 00:00.96
21 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:14.70 00:01.00
22 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 01:14.79 00:01.09
23 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 01:14.93 00:01.23
24 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 01:15.14 00:01.44
25 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:15.46 00:01.76



Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]