Heidfeld and Sarrazin join Formula E series

Stephane Sarrazin and Nick Heidfeld join FIA Formula E line up

Stephane Sarrazin and Nick Heidfeld join FIA Formula E line up

Former F1 driver Nick Heidfeld and sportscar ace Stephane Sarrazin will compete in the the new electric single seater FIA Formula E series.

The duo will join the Monaco-based Venturi team backed by Hollywood movie star Leonardo Di Caprio.

Heidfeld is the seventh ex-F1 driver to join the championship with the deal marking a return to single seaters for the German who competed in F1 for 12 years.

Since leaving F1 in 2011, the former Formula 3000 champion has been plying his trade in sportcars with Rebellion Racing.

“It feels really special to be part of a starting project that is going to bring a lot to the future of racing and the automobile,” said Heidfeld, who tested for Venturi earlier this month.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Formula E. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

“When you’ve been involved in driving and motorsport at a high level for such a long time, you step into a car and automatically start to compare to what you’ve experienced before.

“I will try to bring some ideas of what I’ve seen and experienced to help the team perform at the highest level.”

Meanwhile, Frenchman Sarrazin will bring a wealth of experience to the Venturi squad after spells in single seaters, rallying and sporstcars.

The 38-year-old, who has been a key member of Toyota’s LMP1 sportscar program, is already looking forward to the next chapter of his motor racing career.

“I am excited and motivated to sit in a totally new car with pioneering technology and to undertake a new discipline,” said Sarrazin. “In addition, street circuits promise a lot of close competition and fights between good drivers.”

The news comes after Speedcafe.com revealed Formula E is in talks with Adelaide and another unnamed Australian city as the championship plans to expand to Australia for season two.

The FIA Formula E championship is set to kick off in Beijing, China on September 13.

FIA Formula E Driver line up so far



Andretti Autosport

Franck Montagny, TBA

Audi Sport ABT

Lucas Di Grassi, Daniel Abt

China Racing


Dragon Racing



Jarno Trulli, TBA



Mahindra Racing

Bruno Senna, Karun Chandhok

Super Aguri


Venturi Grand Prix

Nick Heidfeld, Stephane Sarrazin

Virgin Racing

Jaime Alguersuari, Sam Bird


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]