Advantage Lowndes after Sunday qualifying

Craig Lowndes took pole and a tyre advantage ahead of Race 19

Craig Lowndes took pole and a tyre advantage ahead of Race 19

Craig Lowndes has made the perfect start to Sunday’s track action at Hidden Valley, using just one set of soft tyres on his way to pole position for Race 19.

With each driver given two sets of softs to use today, teams were left to choose between doing two runs in qualifying, or keeping one set brand new for the race.

Lowndes put in a stunning 1:08.75s effort on his first set softs, after which he watched the final flurry of times from the Red Bull garage.

Team-mate Jamie Whincup was 0.27s adrift on his first run and then fell 0.09s short of stealing pole on his second.

David Reynolds, Jason Bright, James Courtney, Fabian Coulthard, Shane van Gisbergen, Chaz Mostert, Russell Ingall and Mark Winterbottom completed the top 10.

Michael Caruso and David Wall were the only other drivers that did not complete two soft tyre runs.

Caruso sat out much of the session before going 21st with his lap, while Wall, who had planned two soft tyre runs, failed to turn a flying lap at all due to power steering problems.

Of the 22 who did two soft tyre runs, only Winterbottom and Swede Robert Dahlgren failed to improve with their second effort.

The 200km Race 19 is scheduled for 1515 local time.

Qualifying – Race 19

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 01:08.75
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 01:08.84 00:00.09
3 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 01:08.88 00:00.13
4 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 01:08.89 00:00.14
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 01:08.90 00:00.15
6 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 01:08.91 00:00.16
7 Team Tekno VIP Petfoods Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 01:08.93 00:00.18
8 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 01:09.05 00:00.30
9 Repair Management Aust Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF 01:09.10 00:00.35
10 Ford Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 01:09.10 00:00.35
11 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 01:09.10 00:00.35
12 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 01:09.14 00:00.39
13 Valvoline Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 01:09.17 00:00.42
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 01:09.22 00:00.47
15 Walkinshaw Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 01:09.24 00:00.49
16 Erebus Motorsport V8 Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG 01:09.25 00:00.50
17 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 01:09.25 00:00.50
18 Team JELD-WEN Jack Perkins Ford Falcon FG 01:09.33 00:00.58
19 Wilson Security Racing Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG 01:09.37 00:00.62
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 01:09.38 00:00.63
21 Norton Hornets Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 01:09.45 00:00.70
22 Norton Hornets James Moffat Nissan Altima 01:09.47 00:00.72
23 Team Advam/GB Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 01:09.49 00:00.74
24 Valvoline Racing GRM Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 01:09.66 00:00.91
25 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Ford Falcon FG




Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]