Van Gisbergen quickest in final Darwin practice

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen proved the quickest man in the closing stages of the third and final practice session for the Skycity Triple Crown at Hidden Valley.

The Kiwi, who has one career win at the Darwin circuit to his name, produced a 1:09.34s on his penultimate run in the last of the 20 minute hit-outs.

Van Gisbergen used a set of pre-marked soft tyres to set his time, which had naturally proved quicker than the new set of hards he had run earlier in the session.

The Tekno Holden was momentarily held-up by James Moffat’s Nissan towards the end of the lap, before Van Gisbergen picked up a tow from the Nissan down the front-straight.

Jamie Whincup and James Courtney continued their strong form from earlier in the day to be second and third respectively in their Holdens.

Rick Kelly, Russell Ingall and Micahel Caruso filled fourth through sixth, with the Nissans also backing up their earlier practice speed.

Robert Dahlgren spent the first two thirds of the session pit-bound with electrical issues before leaping to seventh on the closing stages, edging out team-mate Scott McLaughlin.

Title contenders Craig Lowndes and Mark Winterbottom completed the top 10.

The V8 Supercars will return to the track for back-to-back qualifying sessions from 1140 tomorrow.

VIDEO: van Gisbergen speaks after Friday practice


Pos  No. Driver Team Car Time Difference
1   97   Shane Van Gisbergen Team Tekno VIP Petfoods  Holden Commodore VF  1:09.3476
2    1   Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF  1:09.6227 0:00.2751
3   22   James Courtney Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF  1:09.8988 0:00.5512
4   15   Rick Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima  1:10.1279 0:00.7803
5   23   Russell Ingall Repair Management Aust Racing  Holden Commodore VF  1:10.1518 0:00.8042
6   36   Michael Caruso Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima  1:10.1796 0:00.8320
7   34   Robert Dahlgren Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60  1:10.1873 0:00.8397
8   33   Scott McLaughlin Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60  1:10.3574 0:01.0098
9  888   Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF  1:10.5314 0:01.1838
10    5   Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG  1:10.5610 0:01.2134
11    4   Lee Holdsworth Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG  1:10.5753 0:01.2277
12    7   Todd Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima  1:10.5914 0:01.2438
13   55   David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team  Ford Falcon FG  1:10.6095 0:01.2619
14  360   James Moffat Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima  1:10.6426 0:01.2950
15    9   Will Davison Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG  1:10.6802 0:01.3326
16   47   Tim Slade Supercheap Auto Racing  Holden Commodore VF  1:10.6890 0:01.3414
17    2   Garth Tander Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF  1:10.7882 0:01.4406
18  222   Nick Percat Walkinshaw Racing  Holden Commodore VF  1:10.8453 0:01.4977
19    8   Jason Bright Team BOC  Holden Commodore VF  1:10.9811 0:01.6335
20   14   Fabian Coulthard Lockwood Racing  Holden Commodore VF  1:11.0367 0:01.6891
21   21   Dale Wood Team Advam/GB  Holden Commodore VF  1:11.0488 0:01.7012
22   16   Scott Pye Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG  1:11.1457 0:01.7981
23    6   Chaz Mostert Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG  1:11.1509 0:01.8033
24   17   David Wall Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG  1:11.3862 0:02.0386
25   18   Jack Perkins Team JELD-WEN  Ford Falcon FG  1:11.5789 0:02.2313


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]