Audi wins after late heartbreak for Webber

Audi continued its phenomenal Le Mans record with yet another victory

Audi continued its phenomenal Le Mans record with yet another victory

Audi has fended off spirited challenges from Toyota and Porsche to take its 13th Le Mans 24 Hours victory in 15 years

The #2 R18 e-tron of Marcel Fassler/Andre Lotterer/Benoit Treluyer led home the team’s #1 entry of Lucas di Grassi/Tom Kristensen/Marc Gene by three laps in a one-two finish for the German marque.

Mark Webber’s Porsche failed to see the chequered flag after suffering from a terminal drivetrain failure while running a close second with just two hours remaining.

The demise of Webber’s car was the final in a series of dramatic twists among the top runners, which all suffered from varying degrees of technical issues.

Porsche, Audi and Toyota each had a car effectively taken out of contention within the opening two hours.

The pole-sitting #7 Toyota dominated for the opening 14 hours before an electrical fire saw it instantly eliminated from the fight.

That left the #20 Porsche to fight the much faster #1 and #2 Audis for the remainder of the race.

The two R18 e-trons both lost significant ground changing turbo chargers on Sunday morning, allowing the Webber/Timo Bernhard/Nelson Hartley Porsche to lead the race with little over two hours to go.

The #20 entry ground to a halt on the Mulsanne not long after Webber took over the car for the run to the flag and, although the Australian was eventually able to drive the car to the pits, it did not return to the circuit thereafter.

More problems for the #14 Porsche late in the going eventually allowed the #8 Toyota to assume the final podium spot, just two laps adrift of second.

The #12 Rebellion was a further 14 laps down in fourth, while the LMP2 winning #38 Jota Zytek-Nissan also benefitted from the attrition to score fifth outright.

The GTE Pro honours were taken by the #51 AF Corse Ferrari, which took a decisive advantage on Sunday morning when its long-time rival, the #97 Aston Martin, lost five laps with a power steering problem.

Aston instead had to be content with the GTE Am spoils, where its #95 Vantage survived a late power steering scare of its own to beat home its Porsche and Ferrari opposition.

Le Mans 24 Hours result

Pos Cl Drivers Team/Car Time/Gap
1 P1 Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer Audi 24h01m59.830s
2 P1 Di Grassi/Gene/Kristensen Audi -3 laps
3 P1 Davidson/Lapierre/Buemi Toyota -5 laps
4 P1 Prost/Heidfeld/Beche Rebellion-Toyota -19 laps
5 P2 Dolan/Tincknell/Turvey Jota Zytek-Nissan -23 laps
6 P2 Thiriet/Badey/Gommendy TDS Ligier-Nissan -24 laps
7 P2 Chatin/Panciatici/Webb Signatech ORECA-Nissan -24 laps
8 P2 Rast/Charouz/Capillaire Loeb ORECA-Nissan -25 laps
9 P2 Brundle/Mardenborough/S’sk OAK Ligier-Nissan -25 laps
10 P2 Klien/Hirsch/Brandela Morand Morgan-Judd -27 laps
11 P2 Cheng/Tung/Fong OAK Ligier-HPD -32 laps
12 P2 Frey/Mailleux/Lancaster Race Perf ORECA-Judd -37 laps
13 GTEP Bruni/Vilander/Fisichella AF Ferrari -40 laps
14 GTEP Magnussen/Garcia/Taylor Corvette -41 laps
15 GTEP Holzer/Makowiecki/Lietz Manthey Porsche -42 laps
16 P2 Schell/Leutwiler/Roussel Pegasus Morgan-Nissan -43 laps
17 GTEA Poulsen/Hansson/Thiim Aston Martin -45 laps
18 GTEP Gavin/Milner/Westbrook Corvette -46 laps
19 GTEA Ried/Bachler/Al Qubaisi Proton Porsche -47 laps
20 GTEA Perez-Companc/Cioci/Ventur AF Ferrari -48 laps
21 GTEA Montecalvo/Roda/Ruberti 8Star Ferrari -49 laps
22 GTEA Dempsey/Foster/Long Dempsey Porsche -50 laps
23 P2 Kimber-Smith/McMurry/Dyson Greaves Zytek-Nissan -50 laps
24 GTEA Dalla Lana/Lamy/Nygaard Aston Martin -50 laps
25 GTEA Al Faisal/Neiman/Pumpelly JMW Ferrari -52 laps
26 GTEA Nakano/Ehret/Rich Taisan Ferrari -52 laps
27 GTEA Barthez/Pons/Ayari Sofrev Ferrari -54 laps
28 GTEA Krohn/Jonsson/Collins Krohn Ferrari -55 laps
29 GTEA Narac/Armindo/Hallyday Imsa Porsche -56 laps
30 GTEA Mowlem/Patterson/Hamilton Ram Ferrari -60 laps
31 GTEP MacNeil/Bleekemolen Prospeed Porsche -60 laps
32 GTEA Maris/Merlin/Helary Imsa Porsche -62 laps
33 GTEP Turner/Mucke/Senna Aston Martin -69 laps
34 GTEP Pilet/Bergmeister/Tandy Manthey Porsche -70 laps
35 P2 Zlobin/Salo/Ladygin SMP ORECA-Nissan -76 laps
36 GTEA Mallegol/Bachelier/Blank AF Ferrari -84 laps
DNF P1 Dumas/Jani/Lieb Porsche 348 laps
DNF P1 Bernhard/Webber/Hartley Porsche 346 laps
DNF P2 Ragues/Taylor/Ihara Larbre Morgan-Judd 341 laps
DNF P1 Wurz/Sarrazin/Nakajima Toyota 219 laps
DNF GTEA Bertolini/Shaitar/Basov SMP Ferrari 196 laps
DNF GTEA Perrodo/Collard/Palttala Prospeed Porsche 194 laps
DNF GTEP Griffin/Parente/Leo Ram Ferrari 140 laps
DNF P2 Rusinov/Pla/Canal OAK Morgan-Nissan 120 laps
DNF GTEA Mann/Case/Giammaria AF Ferrari 115 laps
DNF P2 Howson/Bradley/Imperatori KCMG ORECA-Nissan 87 laps
DNF P1 Kraihamer/Belicchi/Leimer Rebellion-Toyota 73 laps
DNF P2 Berthon/Gonzalez/Chandhok Murphy ORECA-Nissan 73 laps
DNF P2 Munemman/Latif/Winslow Greaves Zytek-Nissan 31 laps
DNF GTEP Rigon/Kaffer/Beretta AF Ferrari 28 laps
DNF P1 Albuquerque/Bonanomi/Jarvi Audi 25 laps
DNF GTEA Wyatt/Rugolo/Bird AF Ferrari 22 laps
DNF P2 Ladygin/Minassian/Mediani SMP ORECA-Nissan 9 laps
DNF C Ordonez/Reip/Motoyama Nissan ZEOD 5 laps


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]