Bakkerud ignites World RX title push at Lydden

Bakkerudd leads Larsson and Jordan at Lydden Hill

Bakkerud leads Larsson and Jordan at Lydden Hill

Andreas Bakkerud moved to the top of the FIA World Rallycross Championship standings after claiming victory at Lydden Hill on Sunday.

The Olsbergs MSE driver proved to be the quickest of the bumper 37 Supercar field at the famous British circuit which he confirmed with an impressive showing in the six lap final.

Sweden’s Robin Larsson followed Bakkerud home with his privately run Audi S1 just half a second adrift.

Reigning British Touring Car champion Andrew Jordan produced the biggest surprise as the wild card runner came home in third.

“This is a dream come true,” said Bakkerud.

“We didn’t make a mistake, we had a clean run and it was a close fight until the end.”

“I promised Norway’s biggest broadcaster that I would grow a moustache for my home round in Hell next month if I was leading the Championship after Lydden so now I must stick to my promise and grow a moustache!”

Bakkerud led the event at the end of day one and went on to finish first in the Intermediate Classification after the four heats.

The Norwegian progressed to the final after coming second in the opening semi-final won by Marklund Motorsport’s Toomas Heikkinen. Portugal winner Petter Solberg secured the last final berth in third.

Reinis Nitiss claimed the second semi-final from Larsson and former British Rallycross champion Jordan. However, engine problems for Nitiss saw him fail to make the final, promoting American star Tanner Foust onto the six car grid.

Larsson got the jump at the start as he led Heikkinen and Solberg into Chessons Drift for the first time. Bakkerud, Jordan and Foust elected to complete their mandatory Joker Laps.

The clean air for Bakkerud allowed him to catch up to the lead group.

Larsson took his Joker Lap on the final tour and came out alongside Bakkerud which produced a thrilling tussle to the flag.

In the end, he pipped the Swede by half a second with Jordan finishing a comfortable third. Heikkinen was fourth ahead of Foust and Solberg.

European champion Timer Timerzyanov retired with engine problems, while circuit owner Pat Doran had a lucky escape when his Group B Ford RS200 burst into flames in Saturday’s Rallycross/Group B invitation race.

Elsewhere, former F1 driver Nelson Piquet Jr retired from the RX Lites final.

The FIA World Rallycross Championship heads to Hell, Norway for the third round on June  14-15.

FIA World Rallycross Championship – Round 2 Lydden Hill – Supercar Final Results  

Position Driver Team/Car Time/Gap
1 Andreas Bakkerud OlsbergsMSE Ford 4m25.428s
2 Robin Larsson Larsson Audi +0.541s
3 Andrew Jordan OlsbergsMSE Ford +1.389s
4 Toomas Heikkinen Marklund VW +6.370s
5 Tanner Foust Marklund VW +10.075s
6 Petter Solberg PS Citroen +12.457s


FIA World Rallycross Supercar Final

FIA World Rallycross Day 1 Highlights

Pat Doran’s lucky escape

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]