Rosberg retains Monaco pole after inquiry

Nico Rosberg will start the Monaco Grand Prix from pole

Nico Rosberg will start the Monaco Grand Prix from pole

Nico Rosberg will keep his Monaco Grand Prix pole position after stewards declared his incident at the end of qualifying did not deliberately impede team-mate Lewis Hamilton.

The Mercedes driver was the subject of a stewards investigation after he brought out the yellow flags in the dying seconds of qualifying.

Rosberg locked his wheels on his final flying lap which forced the German to take evasive action up an escape road at Mirabeau corner.

The incident occurred just ahead of team-mate Hamilton who was also on his last flying lap, which was fractionally quicker than the provisional polesitter, Rosberg, at sector one.

However, the yellow flags forced Hamilton to abandon the lap which he later claimed would have secured pole position in the post qualifying press conference.

Rosberg denied accusations that he had gone off to disrupt Hamilton’s final effort.

After consulting telemetry data, the FIA deemed there was no intent from Rosberg to deliberately impede Hamilton.

“The stewards examined video and telemetry data from the team and FIA and could find no evidence of any offence related to the turn 5 incident, read an FIA statement on the matter.

As a result, Rosberg will keep his pole position with the Brit starting alongside him on the front row for Sunday’s race.

Meanwhile, Caterham’s Marcus Ericsson has been issued with two penalty points on his licence and will start the race from the pit-lane for his part in a clash with Williams’ Felipe Massa in Q1.

The Swede slid into Massa forcing the pair into the barriers at Mirabeau which prevented the Williams driver from taking part in Q2.

Monaco Grand Prix Grid

Position Driver Team Time Gap
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m15.989s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m16.048s +0.059s
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1m16.384s +0.395s
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m16.547s +0.558s
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m16.686s +0.697s
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m17.389s +1.400s
7 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1m17.540s +1.551s
8 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1m17.555s +1.566s
9 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1m18.090s +2.101s
10 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1m18.327s +2.338s
11 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1m17.846s Q2 +1.492s
12 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m17.988s Q2 +1.634s
13 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Renault 1m18.082s Q2 +1.728s
14 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1m18.196s Q2 +1.842s
15 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 1m18.356s Q2 +2.002s
16 Felipe Massa Williams-Renault No time   Q2
17 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1m18.741s Q1 +1.184s
18 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1m18.745s Q1 +1.188s
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Cosworth 1m19.332s Q1 +1.775s
20 Max Chilton Marussia-Cosworth 1m19.928s Q1 +2.371s
21 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 1m20.133s Q1 +2.576s
22 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1m21.732s Q1 +4.175s


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]