Weather mixes-up Carrera Cup qualifying

Foster and Simpson on pole at Phillip Island

Foster and Simpson on pole at Phillip Island

Nick Foster and Ryan Simpson will start off pole for the opening race of the Porsche Carrera Cup mini-enduro at Phillip Island after both qualifying session this morning were weather affected.

With the times combined from both drivers, the professionals were the first cars out on track with Steve Richards setting the pace in damp conditions. As the track tried all crews switched to slicks, but no one could make a dent on the time sheets.

As the elite drivers took to the cars in the second session, light rain hit the track. Adam Gowens started the session on wets and quickly went to the top of the sheets in the 911 he is sharing with Shae Davies. With the exception of Simpson, the rest of the field dived for the pits to put on wets.

Simpson, who stayed on track throughout the entire 15-minute session, found himself in the box seat in the final minutes as the sun returned and the rest of the field on the wet tyres cleared dry line.

The qualifying sessions had a number of incidents with Scott McLaughlin setting the third fastest time in the first segment, to only have his time excluded after missing a call to the weight scales. He will be joined off the rear by David Reynolds whose co-driver Tony Walls found the sand trap on his first flying lap in the second qualifying.

Championship leader Warren Luff will start seventh, while multiple champion Craig Baird will come from 11th.

With the tricky weather set in for the day, making the right call on pit strategy and tyres will be crucial in the final outcome of the opening one-hour race from 12.50pm.

VIDEO: Qualifying wrap


Line-up:  Carrera Cup – Phillip Island 

Pos  No. Drivers Team
1 777  N.Foster/R.Simpson  Bob Jane T-Marts
2  88  S.Davies/A.Gowans  Davbridge Constructions
3  12  S.Richards/D.Flack  Laser Plumbing & Electrical
4  45  D.Padayachee/N.Muston  VIP Petfoods
5  24  T.Bates/D.Gaunt  Alternative Freight Services/A
6  77  N.McBride/R.Jane  Bob Jane T-Marts
7   7  W.Luff/G.Emery  No Second Chance/Phase 8
8  29  M.Patrizi/T.Bayliss  Onsite Rental Group
9  23  R.Lago/D.Russell  JBS Australia
10  13  J.Bergmuller/D.Wood  Porsche Centre Brighton
11   1  C.Baird/M.Twigg  Bonaire / Wilson Security
12  56  S.Smollen/N.Percat  McGrath Real Estate Agents
13   9  M.Cini/D.Fiore  Hallmarc
14 27 S. Power/J. Koundouris Childhood Cancer Assocaition
15  26  M.Almond/J.Karytinos  Copyworld
16  11  A.Samadi/J.Reid  Royal Purple Oil/Garth Walden
17  22  B.Ramsay/J.Bright  V.I.P. Home Services
18  55  R.Gracie/T.Miles  Fujitsu Racing
19   5  T.Walls/D.Reynolds  Objective Racing
20   4  S.Grove/S.McLaughlin  Grove Group


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]