Baird and Twigg win Carrera Cup smash fest

First race win of the year for Baird

First race win of the year for Baird

Craig Baird and Max Twigg showed their class and experience to win what could be the most expensive race in Australian Carrera Cup history at Phillip Island.

Only 10 of the 20 starters finished after accidents which eliminated, amongst others, the series’ top three Warren Luff, Steven Richards and Nick Foster.

Starting 11th, Twigg kept his nose clean while on just the second lap the first of many incidents occurred when Roger Lago, Tony Walls and Jonny Reid came together.

Adam Gowens crashes out of the race

Adam Gowens crashes out of the race

A Safety Car to retrieve John Karytinos’ car brought about a wild re-start that saw Michael Patrizi, Luff, Daniel Gaunt, Tony Bates and Dean Fiore all come together at Honda Corner.

Luff was sent to the local Phillip Island Hospital for scans and was cleared of any serious injuries.

However, he will not be able to race in the Australian GT 101 this afternoon, where he was due to start from pole.

A long Safety Car period meant the compulsory driver change occurred later than planned.

The remains of the Bayliss Porsche

The remains of the Bayliss Porsche

Richards was battling with Shae Davies for the lead when they handed over to their co-drivers.

Davies’ co-driver Adam Gowens then crashed coming out of MG before Damian Flack, in the Richards car, was involved in an incident that eliminated pole-sitter Nick Foster and leading elite driver Shane Smollen.

Through all this came the Scott McLaughlin/Stephen Grove entry, which started off the back row of the grid to lead the race.

With Baird replacing Twigg, the reigning champion reeled-in Grove and was not headed for the duration.

Sam Power moved to second, demoting Grove to the final spot on the podium.

The race ended behind the Safety Car after a heavy accident to former World Superbike Champion Troy Bayliss, who crashed at the Hayshed in the Patrizi entry.

Bayliss also underwent a medical examination and was cleared of serious injury.

Scans cleared Luff of serious injury

Scans cleared Luff of serious injury










VIDEO: Max Twigg and Craig Baird wrap-up the opening race from Phillip Island


Race 1-up:  Carrera Cup – Phillip Island 

Pos  No Drivers Team
1   1  C.Baird/M.Twigg  Bonaire / Wilson Security
2  27  S.Power/J.Koundouris  Childhood Cancer Association
3   4  S.Grove/S.McLaughlin  Grove Group
4  13  J.Bergmuller/D.Wood  Porsche Centre Brighton
5  77  N.McBride/R.Jane  Bob Jane T-Marts
6  55  R.Gracie/T.Miles  Fujitsu Racing
7  22  B.Ramsay/J.Bright  V.I.P. Home Services
8   5  T.Walls/D.Reynolds  Objective Racing
9  11  A.Samadi/J.Reid  Royal Purple Oil/Garth Walden
10  26  M.Almond/J.Karytinos  Copyworld
DNF  29  M.Patrizi/T.Bayliss  Onsite Rental Group
DNF 777  N.Foster/R.Simpson  Bob Jane T-Marts
DNF  56  S.Smollen/N.Percat  McGrath Real Estate Agents
DNF  12  S.Richards/D.Flack  Laser Plumbing & Electrical
DNF  45  D.Padayachee/N.Muston  VIP Petfoods
DNF  88  S.Davies/A.Gowans  Davbridge Constructions
DNF  24  Dan Gaunt (NZ)  Alternative Freight Services/A
DNF   7  Warren Luff (Qld)  No Second Chance/Phase 8
DNF   9  Dean Fiore (Vic)  Hallmarc
DNF  23  Roger Lago (Qld)  JBS Australia


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]