Evans promoted to GP2 Monaco front row

Mitch Evans

Mitch Evans

GP2 star Mitch Evans has been promoted to the front row of the grid for today’s Monaco feature race.

The Auckland ace had qualified third but a post qualifying penalty for Rio Haryanto, who was one of four drivers to receive a three place grid drop, has elevated him to second position alongside polesitter Jolyon Palmer.

Haryanto was adjudged to have impeded DAMS’ Stephane Richelmi and will now start the race from fifth on the grid. Daniel Abt, Felipe Nasr and Facu Regali were also penalised for qualifying infringements.

Starting from second on the grid for today’s race on the streets of Monaco will present the Kiwi with arguably his best chance to secure a maiden GP2 Series victory.

The 19-year-old, driving for reigning Teams Champions Russian Time, has had a tough start to the season with a seventh place finish in Bahrain last month his best result so far.

Evans starred on his Monaco GP2 debut last year by recording two third place finishes.

The 42 lap feature race will begin at 7.15pm local time.

Revised GP2 Monaco Feature Race Grid 

Position Driver Team Time Group
1 Jolyon Palmer DAMS 1m20.774s Group A
2 Mitch Evans Russian Time 1m21.188s Group A
3 Stephane Richelmi DAMS 1m21.444s Group B
4 Johnny Cecotto Jr Trident 1m21.361s Group A
5 Rio Haryanto Caterham 1m21.433s Group B
6 Stoffel Vandoorne ART 1m21.508s Group B
7 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 1m21.649s Group B
8 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1m21.917s Group A
9 Julian Leal Carlin 1m21.752s Group B
10 Daniel Abt Hilmer 1m21.760s Group A
11 Alexander Rossi Caterham 1m22.146s Group A
12 Sergio Canamasas Trident 1m21.926s Group B
13 Simon Trummer Rapax 1m22.296s Group A
14 Arthur Pic Campos 1m22.207s Group B
15 Rene Binder Arden 1m22.270s Group B
16 Kimiya Sato Campos 1m22.588s Group A
17 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 1m22.277s Group B
18 Felipe Nasr Carlin 1m22.381s Group A
19 Tio Ellinas MP 1m22.681s Group A
20 Conor Daly Lazarus 1m22.997s Group A
21 Daniel de Jong MP 1m22.488s Group B
22 Andre Negrao Arden 1m23.178s Group A
23 Facu Regalia Hilmer 1m22.473s Group B
24 Nathanael Berthon Lazarus 1m22.632s Group B
25 Takuya Izawa ART 1m23.259s Group A
26 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1m23.347s Group B


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]