Walton takes V8 Ute Series lead in WA

Kris Walton

Kris Walton

Kris Walton moved to the head of the V8 Ute Racing Series points standings with victory in Round 2 at Barbagallo Raceway.

The Queenslander made it two wins and a second for the weekend by dominating Race 3 from pole position.

The Rentco Ford greeted the flag almost six seconds clear of Nathan Pretty’s Holden, taking a nine point advantage in the series standings over erstwhile leader David Sieders.

“We wanted to win this, it was a special weekend for Rentco so we wanted this round, and I wanted the lead of the championship,” said Walton afterward.

“I want to win the championship and I’m just going to keep trying to keep these results coming for the rest of the year.”

Second place was enough to give Pretty third for the weekend behind Walton and Ryal Harris.

“From the start of the weekend we thought we were going to have a car we were going to battle with and in the end it turned out to be a great race car,” said Pretty.

“It all comes down to tyre life, the guys worked really hard, changed the setup every race, and it proved worthwhile in the end.”

Harris was third in the final and now holds down the same position in the standings, 37 points adrift of Walton.

Just four points separates Harris, Andrew Fisher, Pretty, Craig Dontas and Jesse Dixon.

Dixon completed a strong weekend with fourth in Race 3 ahead of Kim Jane and Andrew Fisher.

In the Aussie Racing Car Series, Trent Young ensured he scored maximum points for the weekend by sweeping all four races.

The Toyota driver, who suffered a big crash last time out at Symmons Plains, led home Adam Uebergang and James Abela in the respective Sunday races.

Tony Ricciardello was also in dominant form in the local Super GT class, while William Colton (Ford Falcon XY) and Daniel Dragojevich (Holden Monaro HQ) shared the Historic Touring Car honours.


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]