Lowndes continues form with Sunday pole

Craig Lowndes took his second pole in succession

Craig Lowndes took his second pole in succession

Craig Lowndes made it back-to-back pole positions at Barbagallo by topping qualifying for today’s 200km finale to the Perth 400.

The Red Bull Holden driver recorded the fastest time of 55.23s with little over 60 seconds remaining in the 20 minute session to capture the Armor All Pole Award.

Mark Winterbottom’s final lap fell just 0.02s short of his title rival, ensuring that the FPR Falcon will share the front-row with Lowndes.

Vovlo’s Scott McLaughlin sat atop the order before the final tyre set but could not improve, falling to third.

Chaz Mostert and James Courtney completed the top five, while Jamie Whincup will start sixth after striking traffic on his final set of tyres.

Whincup was held up by Dale Wood’s Holden at Turn 7 just prior to Lowndes setting the pole time.

Wood was penalised two grid spots for the incident, dropping him to 23rd.

Robert Dahlgren enjoyed a personal best qualifying result of eighth in the second Volvo, splitting Brad Jones Racing pair Fabian Coulthard and Jason Bright.

David Reynolds completed the top 10, edging out Erebus Mercedes duo Lee Holdsworth and Will Davison.

It was another difficult session for Nissan, with all four of its entries in the bottom half of the field.

The 200km Race 16 will get underway at 1355 local time.

See below for the full qualifying result for Race 16

Pos  No. Driver Team Car Time Gap
1  888  Craig Lowndes  Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2266
2    5  Mark Winterbottom  Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG 0:55.2474  0:00.0208
3   33  Scott McLaughlin  Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60 0:55.3784  0:00.1518
4    6  Chaz Mostert  Ford Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG 0:55.3907  0:00.1641
5   22  James Courtney  Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.4214  0:00.1948
6    1  Jamie Whincup  Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.4303  0:00.2037
7   14  Fabian Coulthard  Lockwood Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.4382  0:00.2116
8   34  Robert Dahlgren  Valvoline Racing GRM  Volvo S60 0:55.4775  0:00.2509
9    8  Jason Bright  Team BOC  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.5081  0:00.2815
10   55  David Reynolds  The Bottle-O Racing Team  Ford Falcon FG 0:55.5277  0:00.3011
11    4  Lee Holdsworth  Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG 0:55.5325  0:00.3059
12    9  Will Davison  Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG 0:55.5535  0:00.3269
13   17  David Wall  Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG 0:55.5683  0:00.3417
14   23  Russell Ingall  Repair Management Aust Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.5780  0:00.3514
15  222  Nick Percat  Walkinshaw Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.6146  0:00.3880
16   15  Rick Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima 0:55.6740  0:00.4474
17    2  Garth Tander  Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.6793  0:00.4527
18    7  Todd Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing  Nissan Altima 0:55.6933  0:00.4667
19   97  Shane Van Gisbergen  Team Tekno VIP Petfoods  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.6959  0:00.4693
20   16  Scott Pye  Wilson Security Racing  Ford Falcon FG 0:55.7021  0:00.4755
21   21  Dale Wood  Team Advam/GB  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.7468  0:00.5202
22   47  Tim Slade  Supercheap Auto Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:55.7550  0:00.5284
23   36  Michael Caruso  Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima 0:55.7924  0:00.5658
24  360  James Moffat  Norton Hornets  Nissan Altima 0:55.8932  0:00.6666
25   18  Jack Perkins  Team JELD-WEN  Ford Falcon FG 0:55.9244  0:00.6978


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]