Walsh takes Dunlop pole after engine change

Ash Walsh scored pole for Race 1

Ash Walsh scored pole for Race 1

Ashley Walsh rewarded his hard working Matt Stone Racing crew with pole position for Round 3 of the Dunlop Series at Barbagallo.

The Ford outfit was forced to perform a hurried engine change prior to the session after discovering a problem during the motor’s warm-up procedure.

Once on track, Walsh proved unperturbed by the drama, clocking the fastest three times of the session on the way to his first Armor All Pole Award of the season.

Points leader Paul Dumbrell wound up second, 0.22s adrift of Walsh’s 57.12s best.

Cameron Waters and Dean Fiore will make-up the second row ahead of Chris Pither, Garry Jacobson, Andre Heimgartner, Jack Le Brocq, Todd Hazelwood and Paul Morris.

Morris had proved the fastest man in the bottom 50 percent segment of the two-part qualifying hit-out.

The first of two 38 lap races for the Dunlop Series this weekend will kick-off at 1325 local time.

See below for the Dunlop Series qualifying result

1 Infants Friend Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon FG 00:57.12
2 Eggleston Morotsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 00:57.34 00:00.22
3 TEAM ENZED FPR Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 00:57.43 00:00.31
4 Titan Ford/East Coast Traffic Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 00:57.47 00:00.35
5 Icebreak Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 00:57.63 00:00.51
6 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 00:57.68 00:00.56
7 Finance Ezi / MWM Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 00:57.71 00:00.59
8 Image Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 00:57.71 00:00.59
9 Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 00:57.76 00:00.64
10 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 00:57.81 00:00.70
11 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 00:57.94 00:00.83
12 Haber Excavations/Miraflores Morgan Haber Ford Falcon FG 00:57.95 00:00.83
13 Team Freightliner Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 00:58.01 00:00.89
14 Vili’s Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 00:58.16 00:01.05
15 Novocastrian Motorsport Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 00:58.21 00:01.09
16 R&J Batteries Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE2 00:58.29 00:01.18
17 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon FG 00:58.38 00:01.26
18 Pacific Hoists/Race Pilot Fredrik Lestrup Holden Commodore VE2 00:58.51 00:01.39
19 Forpark/Aust Custom Moulders Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 00:58.77 00:01.65
20 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE2 00:59.07 00:01.95
21 Rev Trans WA/Real Estate Expre Ben Porter Holden Commodore VE2 00:59.07 00:01.95
22 Street Fighter Dan Day Holden Commodore VE2 00:59.22 00:02.10
23 Mocomm Communication Jim Pollicina Ford Falcon FG 00:59.41 00:02.29
24 Gulf Western Oil Michael Hector Ford Falcon FG 00:59.47 00:02.35
25 Warrin Mining/Volvo Constructi Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE2 00:59.47 00:02.35
26 McGill Motorsport Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 00:59.62 00:02.50


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]