Viso fastest in rain-hit practice 3 at Indy

Wednesday 14th May, 2014 - 8:44am


EJ Viso (#27), running on the outside of Ryan Briscoe (#8), tops day 3 of practice

EJ Viso (#27), running on the outside of Ryan Briscoe (#8), tops day 3 of practice

EJ Viso topped the third day of practice for the Indianapolis 500 with the session cut-short by three hours when rain and thunderstorms struck the speedway.

Viso managed to record a 224.488mph (361.28km/h) lap of the 43 tours he accumulated in practice ahead of the 200-lap race set for May 25.

Another Andretti Autosport entry of NASCAR driver Kurt Busch was second fastest in 224.159mph (360.75km/h), while Penske’s Indy returnee Juan Pablo Montoya was third fastest in 224.115mph (359.97km/h).

Ryan Hunter-Reay, the first driver to top 225mph on day 2, was fourth best ahead of Marco Andretti, Scott Dixon and Indy GP winner Simon Pagenaud.

The top 10 was filled out by Josef Newgarden, Sage Karam and Takuma Sato.

Ryan Briscoe (Chip Ganassi) was 12th fastest with fellow Aussie Will Power (Team Penske) 18th.

Viso, who is standing in for the injured James Hinchcliffe, said he has immediately felt comfortable in the car despite not driving for eight months.

“Whatever his (Hinchcliffe’s) crew and engineer had planned to test and experience, I’ve been doing,” Viso said.

“It has been a quick adaptation to the team for me and so far it’s all been pretty positive.

“When you are driving a car that’s already up to speed and you know it’s capable of doing something, you feel very safe.

“After a few laps, I was flat out.”

Sebastian Saavedra was caught out by the conditions, turning a total of seven laps before the sessions was halted just over three hours before its scheduled 6pm close.

Aside from Hinchcliffe, Australian James Davison and veteran Buddy Lazier are the only two drivers among the 33 entries yet to have turned practice laps.

See below for day 3 practice results 

Pos Driver MPH Time
1 EJ Viso 224.488 40.0912
2 Kurt Busch 224.159 40.1501
3 Juan Pablo Montoya 224.115 40.1580
4 Ryan Hunter-Reay 223.612 40.2482
5 Marco Andretti 223.605 40.2495
6 Scott Dixon 223.235 40.3163
7 Simon Pagenaud 223.063 40.3473
8 Josef Newgarden 222.652 40.4218
9 Sage Karam 222.635 40.4249
10 Takuma Sato 222.483 40.4525
11 Carlos Munoz 222.402 40.4672
12 Ryan Briscoe 222.364 40.4741
13 Townsend Bell 222.249 40.4951
14 Helio Castroneves 222.196 40.5048
15 Tony Kanaan 221.972 40.5456
16 Charlie Kimball 221.937 40.5520
17 JR Hilderbrand 221.737 40.5886
18 Will Power 221.610 40.6118
19 Mikhail Aleshin 221.316 40.6659
20 Justin Wilson 221.184 40.6901
21 Ed Carpenter 220.898 40.7428
22 Jacques Villeneuve 220.890 40.7442
23 Sebastien Bourdais 220.856 40.7506
24 Alex Tagliani 220.146 40.8820
25 Graham Rahal 219.703 40.9644
26 Oriol Servia 219.674 40.9698
27 Carlos Huertas 219.345 41.0312
28 Pippa Mann 219.282 41.0430
29 Martin Plowman 218.380 41.2125
30 Sebastian Saavedra 208.985 43.0652

VIDEO: Practice Day 3 highlights comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!