Hunter-Reay tops day 2 of Indy 500 practice

Tuesday 13th May, 2014 - 9:56am


Ryan Hunter-Reay

Ryan Hunter-Reay

Former series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay speared to the top during the second day of practice runs for the Indianapolis 500.

Hunter-Reay turned a total of 113 laps, just over half the race distance, to record a best lap speed of 225.025mph (362.14km/h) km/h) or 39.996s.

Marco Andretti, driving another Andretti Autosports Honda-powered machine, was second fastest ahead of the leading Penske runner Helio Castroneves.

Justin Wilson was fourth fastest ahead of Penske’s third driver and former Indy 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya.

EJ Viso again subbed for James Hinchcliffe who is also expected to sit out the third day of practice after suffering concussion in a freak accident when he was struck by debris during the Indy road course race last weekend.

“We got a lot of work done today, a lot for what we need for the race weekend,” Hunter-Reay said.

“It’s nice leading practice, it’s a nice little consolation prize. I wish it paid. I was out there pushing like it was paying.”

Like Hunter-Reay, Montoya also accumulated more than 100 laps, finishing the day with 117.

“It was good to get out there and run a lot of laps today, which was important because we don’t know what the weather will be like for (May 13),” said Montoya.

Will Power, who holds a one-point lead in IndyCar standings over Hunter-Reay, was 15th, three places further back than Chip Ganassi driver Ryan Briscoe.

Australian James Davison joined Sebastian Saavedra and Buddy Lazier who have not appeared in practice to date of the 33 entries.

The third day of practice continues tomorrow from midday-6pm local time.

See below for full day 2 practice results

Pos Driver MPH Time
1 Ryan Hunter-Reay 225.025 39.9955
2 Marco Andretti 224.037 40.1719
3 Helio Castroneves 223.635 40.2441
4 Justin Wilson 223.611 40.2484
5 Juan Pablo Montoya 223.395 40.2874
6 Carlos Munoz 223.172 40.3276
7 Mikhail Aleshin 223.120 40.3371
8 Scott Dixon 223.119 40.3373
9 Kurt Busch 222.770 40.4004
10 EJ Viso 222.695 40.4140
11 Tony Kanaan 222.635 40.4249
12 Ryan Briscoe 222.132 40.5165
13 Josef Newgarden 222.082 40.5255
14 Simon Pagenaud 221.862 40.5658
15 Will Power 221.735 40.5890
16 Oriol Servia 221.529 40.6267
17 Alex Tagliani 221.408 40.6489
18 JR Hilderbrand 221,266 40.6750
19 Jack Hawksworth 221.257 40.6767
20 Graham Rahal 221.107 40.7042
21 Jacques Villeneuve 221.101 40.7053
22 Takuma Sato 220.891 40.7441
23 Sage Karam 220.543 40.8083
24 Townsend Bell 220.307 40.8520
25 Pippa Mann 220.206 40.8708
26 Sebastien Bourdais 220.116 40.8876
27 Ed Carpenter 219.647 40.9748
28 Carlos Huertas 219.246 41.0498
29 Martin Plowman 218.852 41.1236
30 Charlie Kimball 218.229 41.2410


VIDEO: Highlights from the day comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!