Vettel handed grid penalty after gearbox change

Sebastian Vettel has been demoted to 15th on the grid after penalty

Sebastian Vettel has been demoted to 15th on the grid after penalty

Sebastian Vettel will start from 15th position for Sunday’s Spanish Grand Prix after incurring a five place grid penalty for a gearbox change.

The reigning world champion was unable to post a time in the final part of qualifying at the Circuit de Catalunya when his Red Bull RB10 suffered a mechanical failure.

The German was classified in 10th position but the mechanical problem has left his team with no option but to replace the gearbox on his car, thus incurring a five place grid penalty.

Vettel struggled for drive on his out lap before electing to stop the car on the circuit, which brought out the red flags.

“I left the garage for Q3 and lost drive in second gear; I still had third gear and above so we thought we could do the lap with that, but by Turn 1 I had lost all the other gears, so we couldn’t continue,” said Vettel

“I’m of course quite disappointed.” 

Toro Rosso driver Jean-Eric Vergne will start alongside the Lotus of Pastor Maldonado in 21st position after receiving a 10 place grid penalty for losing a wheel in Friday Free Practice.

The incident was deemed a breach of the safety regulations by the stewards.

Maldonado will start from the back of the grid after failing to post a time in qualifying.

Revised Spanish Grand Prix Grid

Pos Driver Team
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault
4 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes
5 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
7 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
8 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
9 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercede
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercede
12 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault
13 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari
14 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes
15 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
16 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari
17 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari
18 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari
19 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault
20 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault
21 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault
22 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]